1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root "reflashing same ROM" & "how often should fix permissions"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Braaainz, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. Braaainz

    Braaainz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    348
    85
    53
    I'm running CM7.1 with the stock kernel (switching to last Tiamat kernel now).

    1. It's been pretty buggy for me. I'm going to reflash CM7.1 to make sure that I just didn't have a buggy download. What do I need to wipe before reflashing?

    Please note: I am not flashing a NEW ROM. I think that I don't need to wipe system data and other areas, just cache and dalvik cache. Can anyone confirm?

    2. Like I said, CM7.1 has been pretty buggy for me. I go to ROM Manager and fix permissions at least once a week and there are TONS of permissions that need to be fixed. I didn't seem to have this many repairs when I was running stock Sense (rooted). How often should I need to refresh my permissions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    unfortunately its not an easy answer it may be necessary to wipe more than dalvic and cache if you have a buggy system you may want to do a full wipe and see if its still buggy.

    Next I would highly recommend ditching rom manager that could be the sole cause of your bugs. Rom Manager is very buggy. Also If you have Clockwork Mod Recovery. Most of us recommend Amon Ra 2.3 Its a much better recovery than clock work mod.

    Also you should always flash ROMS and Kernels and Themes through recovery you have much better results. Recovery is your friend especially if you cannot boot into your ROM. ROM Manager can't help you then.
     
  3. NaterTots

    NaterTots Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    704
    581
    183
    Plumber
    CT
    I'm sure many would agree with this, I would flash Amon Ra 2.3 as your recovery.

    Then I'd wipe everything really well, Cache, Dalvick cache, and data. Then run the Superwipe file found in the rooting for dummies Gingerbread edition thread.

    Once you've done that flash CM 7 onto a clean phone and that will probably resolve most of the buggy issues.

    Rom Manager doesn't seem to clean things well for a new rom and going from Sense to AOSP only exacerbates things.

    Naters
     
  4. Braaainz

    Braaainz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    348
    85
    53
    Thanks for the prompt replies.

    I had switched to Amon Ra previously... and while I still use it, I have to admit, I prefer Clockwork's user interface more. Having to absolutely verify before you do something using the volume controls have saved me from accidently wiping stuff on accident (I've had a couple of close calls with RA). I only use ROM Manager for fixing permissions.

    This is all so damn frustrating!

    Does anyone else use CM7.1 Stable with HDMI?!? Do they have audio problems with it? I have to reboot after every use or my audio is borked. Headphone icon won't go away, ear speaker and phone mic don't work for phone calls unless set to speaker phone, etc.

    I switched to the latest Tiamat kernel and the HDMI isn't working any better. :(
     
  5. Braaainz

    Braaainz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    348
    85
    53
    Okay, before wiping all and starting over...

    will I need to reflash GAPPS and the GPS fix?
     
  6. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    I found CM7.1 to be buggy and I don't even use Rom Manager or Clockwork recovery. I cleaned my phone REALLY well, too. Wiped everything except SD card twice and used Superwipe twice.

    How was it buggy? Well, it was just really glitchy. I had to press on icons a few times over to get apps to work. And removing widgets? Forget it. Yet all of those things work fine on MikG. I can remove widgets and click on apps with ease.

    I don't know. Maybe my phone just LIKES Sense. Or maybe I had a bad download. Who knows.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  7. Braaainz

    Braaainz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    348
    85
    53
    Thanks for the input. Unfortunately, Sense has the worst bluetooth stack among android phones. Sorry, but if I can use a bluetooth keyboard, mouse, and wiimote with classic controller effortlessly with a non-Sense rom... then HTC can suck it.
     
  8. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    See, that isn't an issue with me. I don't use Bluetooth at all. I love love LOVE AOSP, don't get me wrong. I used it on other phones I've owned. Just for some reason my phone chokes on it. Sense works fine. Like I said, maybe it was a bad download, I don't know. I downloaded it on my computer (as opposed to my phone) today. I will try it again when I get a moment.

    Plus there's the "bootloop of death" always at the back of my mind. Sure, it most likely won't happen to me, but still...
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  9. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    It sounds like a bad download or improper wipe to me.
    I would try to download the Rom over again. Delete the old file completely.
    Wipe everything except the sd card twice, then flash the superwipe file twice. I know it seems redundant, but it will really ensure a clean slate to flash your Rom on.
     
    ocnbrze, andygu3 and 9to5cynic like this.
  10. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    I did a total wipe before, so it has to be a bad download. I will try it again as soon as my fiance calls from the gym. Don't want to miss his call. :)
     
    ocnbrze and Granite1 like this.
  11. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    CM7 should not really be a buggy experience, I have always had good luck with it.

    And yes you will need to flash the gapps and GPS fix each time you flash the rom.
     
    andygu3 and Braaainz like this.
  12. Braaainz

    Braaainz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    348
    85
    53
    Okay, I went ahead and did a total wipe. Wiped several times in fact.

    After several attempts, I finally got my bluetooth mouse paired and connected. However... I still cannot get my bluetooth keyboard to pair anymore.

    GRRRRRR... @%#$!!!!!!!!!

    In fact, the Bluetooth Settings menu is now acting all buggy. For example, on this last attempt to pair the keyboard, it said "pairing..." and then that option to pair/disconnect locked up.

    I'm going to try a battery pull and try it again. Hopefully the wiimote won't be this hard.

    --------------

    okay... just before the battery pull, I had exited out of settings... on a whim I tried one last time, only to find it now reading "PAIRED AND CONNECTED". Unfortunately, that was in word only. Keyboard didn't work at all and it wasn't an option under "INPUT DEVICE"

    -------

    Okay, now the mouse won't stay connected. Dammit!
     
  13. Braaainz

    Braaainz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    348
    85
    53
    Okay, I went thru this once before... when I first tried getting bluetooth working on CM. I reread my original thread to see what I had to do and it definitely refreshed my memory. The problem was in some data in Titanium Backup. I had to restore apps without restoring any data from them or the system in general.
     
  14. Braaainz

    Braaainz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    348
    85
    53
    Found a clue in a different thread and got both the mouse and keyboard connected. The mouse acts funny in portrait view (goes to the top of the screen whenever a key is pressed). I don't know if that did that before as I always used my mouse in landscape view. Doesn't matter though.

    Why doesn't it matter?

    Because after downloading CM7.1 Stable again, reflashing it after thoroughly wiping the phone several times... audio is still borked after using HDMWin. Apparently, HDMWin just has issues on CM that FullHDMI doesn't have on Sense. Guess I'll just have to get used to rebooting my phone a lot.

    Going back and restoring my nandroid and forget that I ever went thru all this crap.
     
  15. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Not sure about the mouse and other bluetooth devices...

    I don't think I've ever had permission errors, are they that common, or am I just lucky?
     
  16. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    You also have to verify before doing something with amon ra recovery, not sure what you mean:thinking:

    With almost all AOSP roms, you will flash rom then flash GApps. I've always done it in the same recovery session;)

    Personally, with CyanogenMod roms, I've always had more issues with the stable releases. Have you ever tried a nightly? I would recommend giving a nightly a try before giving up on CM
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  17. Braaainz

    Braaainz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    348
    85
    53
     
  18. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
     
    ocnbrze, Rxpert83 and NaterTots like this.
  19. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

     
    ocnbrze and Braaainz like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...