1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General refurb bulls**t

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ral2108, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. ral2108

    ral2108 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    first eris bricked when upgrading from v3 leak to ruu. refurb has some differences that really annoy me. still the new hboot so no root of course. but on v3 leak i had pinch to zoom in my browsers and photos, now there is NO pinch to zoom whatsoever.

    where did it go? i wasn't aware it was not part of the official release

    firmware: 2.1
    baseband: 2.42.00.04.12
    build number: 2.36.605.1 CL165907 release-keys
     

    Advertisement

  2. Nabraham

    Nabraham Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    364
    27
    43
    Quality Assurance Analyst
    Hmm, that's odd, i can pinch to zoom with no problems in the browser and the photo viewer.
     
  3. Tooleman694

    Tooleman694 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    208
    11
    38
    just root the thing and load a custom rom..
     
  4. ral2108

    ral2108 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    new hboot, so i can't... otherwise i would
     
  5. stuckpig

    stuckpig Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    54
    17
    38
    Software
    Ohio
    Just got my refurb Eris from verizon in the mail yesterday:

    Baseband 2.42.00.04.12

    Kernel 2.6.29-8a03cb9a (htc/18-2 #1)

    Software/Build 2.36.605.1 CL165907

    PRI/PRL 2.11_002/51920

    Zoom works in the browser and photo gallery. Strangely, this phone is faster than my original factory model (which I went 1.5->2.1 ota)-- it came pre-loaded with 2.1.

    It is considerably faster all around.

    Edit: the google mobile site -will not- pinch zoom.
     
  6. stuckpig

    stuckpig Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    54
    17
    38
    Software
    Ohio
    What's the unrootable hboot, 1.49?
     
  7. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    1.49 s-on

     
  8. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Yep same here, on a refurb phone also.
     
  9. Tooleman694

    Tooleman694 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    208
    11
    38
    I thought I read they got 1.49 rooted..
     
  10. ral2108

    ral2108 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    yeah, i checked my hboot first thing when i got it, 1.49 s-on. no pinch to zoom really sucks. could always try a factory reset but thats such a pain when u already have ur stuff set up.
     
  11. ral2108

    ral2108 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    maybe like 20 ppl have been successful. and many of those tried for hours/days to get it to work.
     
  12. stuckpig

    stuckpig Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    54
    17
    38
    Software
    Ohio
    1.49 S-ON on my refurb-- I'll check back in if I ever try to root this one.
     
  13. Gnomesarealive

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    If you installed Swype since you got the new phone and have not rebooted it yet, do so. For some reason there is a bug that when you install Swype the pinch-to-zoom disappears until you reboot.
    I had this same problem with a refurb and that fixed it.
     
  14. ral2108

    ral2108 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    ah no way, i didnt install swype but i did install the droid x multitouch keyboard. a restart fixed it!

    thanks:p
     
  15. Gnomesarealive

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    Glad to hear it!
     
  16. adidasfanatic

    adidasfanatic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I got a refurb phone last week but haven't activated it yet because the tech said he'd send me a 1.5 eris since my issues and problems came after 2.1. So far, no luck with that.
     
  17. MJL

    MJL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    252
    27
    43
    I notice with some websites in the stock browser that I can't pinch to zoom for some reason. I just assume it's something in the sites coding that doesn't allow it, I just know certain ones don't work for me and I'm rooted. I'm guessing you have tried pinching on multiple sites right? Also if it's a mobile site, most don't pinch to zoom for me.

    Sent from my phone bitch using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Loading...