1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Regrets... Captivate sucks

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dougouk, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. dougouk

    dougouk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    19
    1
    16
    Is it just mine?
    My captivate is horribly slow. It always takes a full second for the device to process whatever touches I make. it lags Horribly whenever I open up a new application such as memo, contacts, or when I even try to call someone. It also stutters a lot during browsing the internet, such as this forum.

    The biggest lag is on gps. It keeps on freezing whenever I "move"the map or execute any other commands such as "get direction" and such. Also it frequently processes my touches with a 5 second or more delay.

    Any help? This is my second captivate btw, cuz the first one was shit. I thought getting a new one might fix things up a bit, but no..

    And my captivate is running on 2.2. Unrooted. Go launcher ex.

    Any help would be appreciated :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. maerlim

    maerlim Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    490
    121
    68
    Missouri
    The Captivate is capable of being very slow and very fast. When it first boots up and is doing the media scan, it's very slow. Once that's done, it's very fast. After it's been on for about a week it starts getting slow again (like there's a memory leak somewhere) and you need to reboot to get it going again.

    If you're doing a lot of file operations, like installing apps or backing up apps, things like that, it can be very slow due to the filesystem that Samsung used.

    By the way, the latest leaked gingerbread ROM is very, very nice. My 15-year-old Niece had a Captivate that she hated up and down because it just wasn't working at all for her. Slow, random reboots, etc etc. Well, she never updated the thing. Ever. It was still on release-day stock firmware. I took it, loaded the latest gingerbread leak on it, and it's perfect.

    I guess it all depends on how you use it.
     
    dougouk likes this.
  3. dougouk

    dougouk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    19
    1
    16
    I wish I knew how to load "the latest gingerbread" as well...
    There are so many different posts and tutorials for android gingerbread and all, that I don't know which one to follow and end up confused and not doing anything afraid of bricking my phone..

    Do know a FAQ or some link that has everything simply compiled into one post?
     
    Pema108 likes this.
  4. malibu_rapper

    malibu_rapper Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    54
    2
    16
  5. maerlim

    maerlim Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    490
    121
    68
    Missouri
    For your reading pleasure, I wrote it myself:
    http://androidforums.com/captivate-...sh-latest-leaked-gingerbread.html#post3200287
     
    dougouk likes this.
  6. El Niche

    El Niche Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    93
    12
    18
    Miami, FL
    Wow I'm so tempted to do this because lately my captivate has been terribly slow too. Im in stock Froyo. Unfortunately I am not very knowledgeable with using ROMs. The guide seems pretty straight forward, but I'm afraid of bricking. I was hoping for ATT to release an official one soon... Thanks for the guide!
     

Share This Page

Loading...