1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Reinstalling Clockworkmod for Evo 4G

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by yoitsnico, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. yoitsnico

    yoitsnico Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Hello,

    I just installed the new 2.3.3 update (Gingerbread) and for some reason my Clockwork recovery mode isn't available for me to access at the bootloader screen. It has an option to click "Recovery", but once I attempt to get in there I receive a red exclamation with a picture of a cell phone, I then have to pull battery to get the phone to restart. Currently, rooting 2.3.3 isn't possible just yet, so how am I able to recover clockwork with a unrooted phone?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    If you accepted the OTA onto a rooted phone, then you're in a world of hurt.

    I've moved you to the All Things Root forum.

    Please look through here, perhaps someone's already answered this - I'd start with the sticky threads at the top of this forum.

    If you root again, please uncheck the box to accept OTA updates.

    Sadly, had you come here first, you would have installed the rooted update instead of the OTA and would not have had these issues.

    Please bookmark this forum for your future rooting needs and to save you this unhappiness.

    Last thing I want is to sound blunt or impolite, I just want you to have the top info you need.
     
  3. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    So you accepted the OTA? Meaning your hboot is now 2.16?

    You should be able to run an RUU for 2.2/3.70 (I dont know where the RUU is for that software combo with your hboot but ive heard it exists) and then root that, then flash the rooted 2.3.3

    Just getting discussion started...im at work :(

    apparently it has happened on youtube lol, there is a video somewhere and apparently he links the RUU but it didnt work for the one person i know that used it
     
  4. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I have seen a couple others that tried that and it didn't work. Not sure which RUU they tried but they got a version too new error or something like that.

    Here is the link for the RUU for 3.70 on XDA. Should be hboot 2.02/2.10 also I believe. Not sure it will work though.

    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service
     
  5. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    caveman or cavesomething got it to work he said in a different thread....
     
  6. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I saw that but I wonder if he did in fact have s-on when he did it or still had s-off. s-off I would think you could still flash a recovery and rom there after. s-on would be the trick though.
     
  7. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    Well you flash hboot, recovery, and rom when you accept an OTA with s-on...should work with an RUU...?
     
  8. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I would think so. I had on the other day though that was an unrooted phone with a botched update. She tired the RUU for 3.70 and it said version too old or something like that. Not going to go s-on and update to find out though ;)
     
  9. yoitsnico

    yoitsnico Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I had S-ON when I installed a 3.7 PC36IMG, by putting the file on the root of my SD. From there I installed the new update by going to settings. My phone has been rooted prior to all this, but I made sure I unrooted it before installing all the updates. The reason I installed PC36IMG in the first place was because I had a theme that consumed my phone and it seemed to be the only way to get rid of it. I'm going to try a few things mentioned above and see what happens. I'm not sure if I did something wrong with those steps...

    Thanks guys!
     
  10. yoitsnico

    yoitsnico Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Yes my hboot is now 2.16.. I'm going to try to run the RUU for 2.2/3.7, but someone mentioned after your post that it may say "Version is too old". I fairly certain that is a true statement. I will give this a shot!

    Also, I'm pretty sure I can get my clockworkmod back up after I safely remove 2.3.3 and install the rooted version of 2.3.3. The reason I want to avoid rooting my phone is because I'm returning it back to the dealer on the 24th when the Evo 3D is released.

    My main concern was getting the Evo back to 100% bone stock... is this a possibility or am I forever never going to have a stock un rooted Evo?

    I'm sure the return won't be a problem rooted. Although, I am concerned in order to get it factory repaired it needs to be bone stock, am I right?!

    Thanks!
     
  11. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    now that i think about caveblahblah actually went back to 2.1...not 2.2...not that it matters just saying...
     
  12. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    You have s-on right? If the RUU works you will have a stock unrooted evo. If you accepted the OTA of 2.3.3 you should have a stock unrooted evo. Clockwork is a custom recovery not the stock one so im a little unsure why you are trying to get it back...
     
    yoitsnico likes this.
  13. yoitsnico

    yoitsnico Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Correct me if I'm wrong... which I don't doubt that I am wrong.

    If I install the RUU 2.2/3.7 and then accept the OTA 2.3.3, I will then have a bone stock unrooted Evo. I understand that portion of the equation.

    Now how do I successfully return the recovery mode clockworkmod back into the bootloader menu. I have done those steps, but instead of using the RUU I used an PC36IMG.ZIP (Which I'm guessing is the same thing). After I completed those steps I was still not able to enter recovery mode with out receiving a "Red exclamation mark inside of a cell phone" and the only way to get out is to pull the battery.

    I don't care if it's ROM Managers custom Clockworkmod, but you have to be rooted in order to use ROM Manager. I just want to have the option of recovery to be there upon my return.

    I'm hoping this makes sense... Thanks for your help!
     
  14. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Are you wanting to unroot AND have CWM for a recovery?
     
  15. yoitsnico

    yoitsnico Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Yes, exactly! Doesn't Evo come stock with CWM inside the recovery?
     
  16. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    No. CWM is a custom recovery and is installed when you run unrevoked to root your phone. Unrooting will give you s-on, stock recovery and stock rom. You will not be able to run the RUU and keep CWM.
     
    yoitsnico likes this.
  17. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Nope, not that I've ever heard of.
     
  18. yoitsnico

    yoitsnico Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Oh jessus.... I spent hours trying to see where I went wrong... That makes sense because the first 25 minutes I had my phone I flashed unrevoked onto my Evo. From that point on I just assumed it was feature that was apart of the phone.

    THanks a lot man!! Really helped me a lot!

    !
     
  19. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    You are welcome. Any other questions, feel free to ask.
     
  20. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Just wanted to quote myself...

    Lol I don't think people listen to me :)
     
  21. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    What? Did you say something? :p
    :D:D:D
     
  22. yoitsnico

    yoitsnico Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    It wasn't that I didn't listen to you... at the time I was completely confident that CWM came with the phone stock, which was the reason I didn't understand what you were talking about. I needed two people to give me the same answer to fully understand lol.
     
  23. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Lmao only over 3000 somethings...hi I'm Matt nice to meet you extreme LOL
     
  24. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    lol
     
  25. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,234
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,234
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Lol keeping it jovial friend...

    Yeah well I didn't understand what you were talking about either :p
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...