1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Reloading stock rom questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by snowwy66, Feb 6, 2016.

  1. snowwy66

    snowwy66 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    52
    5
    26
    https://samsung-firmware.org/download/GALAXY S6/86b0/VZW/G920VVRU4BOK7/G920VVZW4BOK7/

    i've downloaded the rom from that sight posted above. Are the instructions True and that easy? Phone seems to have the download mode mentioned. I just got the phone so this will be the first time. I've got virus issues. So i want to do a wipe and reload and NOT the factory reset.

    Second. is there a way to back up the apps and what not so that when i get the phone reloaded. I can just do a restore. Or do i still have to go the old fashioned route and manually install 1 by 1?

    My note2 had the same problem and it seemed to be in the hardware as that phone got wiped many times. I'm hoping that's not teh case with this new phone. And i'll probably be doing multiple wipes till i can hopefully trace the problem to one particular app or decide if this is a verizon issue. My sprint note2 has the same apps as my verizon note2. But it don't have a virus. So I'm thinking verizon is screwing around with my phones somehow. I've had this virus problem since the day i bought my verizon note2. I thought my problems were solved with the s6, but, here i am. 4 weeks later. and out of the blue. it's back. And i've installed no updates or new apps over the past week. It appears to have popped back up 2 days ago.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    The instructions are that easy. I would avoid backing up apps as one of them might be the source of your problem, but if you must use one I suggest Samsung's Smart Switch or something like this.
     
    dynomot likes this.
  3. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    909
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    Yes, it is that easy. The phone will take a while to boot up on finishing as it rebuilds caches (ART, etc). If your doing this to get rid of malware or a "virus", don't restore any backups. Start again from fresh, if possible. Annoying, and time consuming but the only way to be sure of not reintroducing any "nasties".
     

Samsung Galaxy S6

The Samsung Galaxy S6 launched in 2015 as the company's flagship. It features a 5.1-inch screen with 2560 x 1440 resolution, 3GB of RAM, 32GB of storage, and an impressive 16 megapixel camera.

Share This Page

Loading...