1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Remote desktop with phone to use as remote

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Cubanluk88, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. Cubanluk88

    Cubanluk88 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    So I have looked at a few apps and I have been using xtralogic to connect to my laptop with my phone.

    My laptop is connected to a 32" laptop that I use as a second display. However, when I remote desktop in, the phone becomes the only display and the laptop/tv screens both go black. If I disconnect, I can go back to the laptop and everything I was doing is there, but I can't view them while the phone is connected via RD.

    So my question is, is there a way I can use my phone via remote desktop as a remote? Essentially, can I somehow maintain displays on the laptop/tv when I am connected via remote desktop so I can see what I am doing on the phone displayed on those 2 screens (or even just one).

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,972
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,972
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    Depending on how down and dirty you want to get with the tech, you can use Android vnc viewier.

    android-vnc-viewer - VNC viewer/client for Android platform - Google Project Hosting

    You'll have to setup vnc on the laptops yourself though. There are also a number of serives out there that you can try but I haven't tried them and like to do things more myself. But probably other people in this forum will chime in with ideas on those.
     
  3. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    You could try Gmote
     

Share This Page

Loading...