• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Remote Spyware?

BlackPen12

Lurker
Jun 9, 2023
OK, I'm not technical AT ALL so please excuse me.

Is it possible for a device to be infected remotely with spyware via a photo/video sent via a chat site like Snapchat/Kik?

I have a few anti-virus apps - Norton paid for, AVG and Malwarebytes. These should catch anything nasty right?

A photo or video itself can't infect a phone. There have however been exploits that took advantage of bugs in message apps - as it happens the worst case in recent years was in iMessage (which was know to be exploited by an Israeli spyware company).

I'm not aware of any exploits that used the apps you name (and you'd think that a system app would be a bigger risk than an unprivileged user app). The most common problem is phishing via a message app: trick the recipient into clicking on something they shouldn't.

I'm never going to say never because there may be a vulnerability that's not been identified or disclosed yet (and if it's unknown then your security apps won't know what to look for). So a bit of sense and caution about what you click on or download is always a good idea. But I think the risk of infection from the route you describe is very low.

Probably the single biggest vulnerability is a poorly-secured account, especially your Google account. So don't use weak passwords, and do use 2 factor authentication. Don't download apps from random websites, because you've no idea what they might contain. And if your phone is still receiving security updates, install them.

Upvote 0
Thank you.