1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root remove apps from terminal

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by robotobos, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. robotobos

    robotobos Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    18
    1
    36
    electrical engineer
    philadelphia
    im using terminal to try and remove native apps but...im here instead

    i do:
    su
    cd system/app
    rm -r CorpCal.apk

    and i get:
    rm failed for CorpCal.apk, Read-Only file system

    my limited use with fedora leads me to believe the system has to be mounted

    a definite 'thanks' for helping hands.
     

    Advertisement

  2. supersaki

    supersaki Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    386
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    386
    36
    43
    after su:
    mount -o rw,remount /system

    and after the rm ... :
    pm uninstall <package name> (may not be necessary)

    to mount system ro again, I believe it's:
    mount -o remount,ro /system

    I always use adb from the computer, as it's just 'adb remount' to toggle rw/ro, but I'm pretty sure the above is correct.
     
    robotobos likes this.
  3. robotobos

    robotobos Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    18
    1
    36
    electrical engineer
    philadelphia
    right on man, thanks!

    i did have to modify the mount cmd to say:
    mount -o rw,remount yaffs2 /system

    but u got me there - the 'pm uninstall' was met with 'Failure', but those annoying apps are gone from the launcher, and thats what i wanted!
     
  4. supersaki

    supersaki Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    386
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    386
    36
    43
    Yeah, recently the pm uninstall has returned 'failure' for me as well. On older roms I had to use that command to remove trace bits of the program from the manage applications page. Glad to have helped!
     

Share This Page

Loading...