1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Remove disable Facebook app.

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Chipstak, Aug 29, 2016.

  1. Chipstak

    Chipstak Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #552
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016

    Aug 26, 2016
    80
    9
    26
    Male
    I'm running jellybean 4.3 .... I would like to remove/disable Facebook app installed. .. I have no need for it... and I have heard that it continues to run in the background .. is that true? Was curious if I removed fb would that stop anything else from running.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,729
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,729
    14,935
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Disabling the FB app won't cause problems - I don't install it on any of my devices.

    If it was pre-installed you probably can't remove it as it will be part of the ROM, but clear data for it, uninstall updates and then disable and it will be as if it isn't there.
     
    badcatz and kct1975 like this.
  3. Chipstak

    Chipstak Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #552
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016

    Aug 26, 2016
    80
    9
    26
    Male

    Yeh it was pre installed........ So i get these..... Screenshot_2016-08-29-16-06-37.png Screenshot_2016-08-29-16-06-01.png Screenshot_2016-08-29-16-06-31.png so shud b no issues if I do that correct ?
     
    kct1975 likes this.
  4. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,446
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,446
    2,523
    608
    Illinois
    Once you tap the 'Force stop' button that halts the Facebook app itself and when you tap the 'Clear data' button that deletes whatever settings changes you made to the Facebook app along with the user name and password you entered when you had first started using the app on your phone. It's that 'Clear data' button that's the most important thing to do because after that the app is no longer linked to your online Facebook account.
     
    badcatz, Hadron, kct1975 and 3 others like this.
  5. Chipstak

    Chipstak Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #552
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016

    Aug 26, 2016
    80
    9
    26
    Male
    Thnx for the info
     
  6. kct1975

    kct1975 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    1,200
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    1,200
    1,053
    523
    Male
    NoVA
    Just wanted to add that if you have TiBu installed, you can Freeze the Facebook app.
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,729
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,729
    14,935
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    And those warning messages are boilerplate - you get them whenever you use those functions, regardless of what app, so they are not telling you that doing it with this specific app will cause problems.
     
    badcatz likes this.
  8. Chipstak

    Chipstak Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #552
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016

    Aug 26, 2016
    80
    9
    26
    Male
    Looks like it was a success. .. Fb disabled now.. Shows in that column. . Thx guys..
     
    Dannydet, svim, badcatz and 1 other person like this.
  9. spezzer

    spezzer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016

    Aug 30, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Definately remove it - it eats up sooo much data. I just use a shortcut that opens FB in Chrome - simples.
     

Share This Page

Loading...