1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support remove icons on default app switcher

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by crossmr, Jul 5, 2016.

  1. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    My default app switcher for the galaxy s5 here in Korea has 3 icons that float at the bottom of the screen. Not only do I never use them, they also cover up the bottom item, making it really difficult to either select it, or swipe it away.

    Since I don't use these, is there some way to remove them? I can't seem to find any settings about it, and long pressing them doesn't give me an option to do anything with them.

     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,342
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,342
    36,155
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    What are the three icons? Could it be the soft menu like this?

    [​IMG]

    You might be able to hide them by using an alternate launcher, like Apex or Nova.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    [​IMG] they are here on the recent apps list. Those three at the bottom.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,342
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,342
    36,155
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I've never seen anything like that before. I would suspect it was something added to the rom by the carrier. See if a different launcher can remove them.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    I'm using go launcher so it isn't tied to the launcher, and yes two of those are carrier specific apps
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,342
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,342
    36,155
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Hmm, we don't generally recommend using GO anymore because of the data mining going on with them. It could indeed be tied to GO launcher. Have you tried switching to the default?
     
    scary alien likes this.
  7. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    No, it's not from go launcher. Those apps are very specific to the korean carrier. One is their app store, one is their mobile navigation app, and the other is Samsung's music app. I'll go to touch wiz though and see
     
  8. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    Yes using both touch wiz home and easy home those icons appear
     
  9. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,342
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,342
    36,155
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Then perhaps it's an app doing it. Try starting in safe mode. If they aren't there, then it's an app. Couldn't tell you which one, though.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  10. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    In safe mode they are there
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,342
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,342
    36,155
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Yikes. That's baked into the System. I assume they've been there from day 1. I'm not sure there is a way to get rid of them without rooting.
     
  12. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    Well that's too bad. I can't root or my local banking apps will stop working.
     
  13. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    #13 Bg260, Jul 6, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016
  14. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #357
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    How about you give me a link that is covered in spam. Might be interesting but whatever that is company hijacks Firefox mobile and just jumps from referral link to referral link
     
  15. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,667
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Apologies, I have adblock so I don't notice those things. Try this:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=64161125&postcount=3
     
  16. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,221
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,221
    3,190
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Take a look at Package Disabler Pro at Play Store. It will let you disable most pre installed apps that you normally would need root access to do without root.
     
    scary alien and Bg260 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...