1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Remove "unlock code" ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by koldtoft, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. koldtoft

    koldtoft Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    34
    2
    16
    I have the HTC Desire with Android 2.1

    I sync it with exchange, but it tells me I have to have a "phone unlock code" to sync with exchange.

    This more or less ruins the phone for me, as I have to type a password EVERY single time the screen locks (or go to standby).

    Only way I can see around it is forwarding all my exchange mail + syncing all my exchange contacts and my exchange calendar with g-mail, but that is a rather poor solution I think :/

    I have g-mail sync running as well, and that does not require me to have a "unlock password"

    Does anyone know a way to get around this annoying "you must have an unlock code to sync with exchange" issue?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Is it a work email?
     
  3. koldtoft

    koldtoft Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    34
    2
    16
    Yes it is. Exchange 2007 on a Windows SBS 2008. But I have full admin access to it, if it's something I need to change on the server.

    Ps. It worked fine on my hero with the current settings (no need for unlock code on hero) but one o my work buddys have the same problem on his HTC Touch Pro 2 (with the same Exchange server)
     
  4. cnanthony

    cnanthony Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    As they say "Theres an app for that"

    I had the same problem downloaded an app and it is no longer an issue.

    LockPicker works brilliantly.
     
    kaushal101 likes this.
  5. koldtoft

    koldtoft Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    34
    2
    16
    OMFG epic !! Thanks a billion!

    I was afraid i had to return the phone over this issue, and I am really in love with it :D So smooth and responsive. Big Thanks. Kudos to you!
     
  6. etherial

    etherial Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    23
    4
    36
    Victoria Australia
    Thanks for this. I was using and app called Screen Mode to stop the screen locking at all, but this is a better solution.
     
  7. kaushal101

    kaushal101 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    47
    0
    35
    Works like a charm. Many thanks.
     
  8. dlemma

    dlemma Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    I installed LockPicker as well, but cannot play with any settings, so everytime I boot the phone, the LockPicker service starts automatically.

    Apart from this minor thing, I was expecting the possibility to remove the password unlock and enable back the unlock pattern, but this latter didn't happen.

    Is there a way I can setup an unlock pattern?
    Thanks
     
  9. miasma

    miasma Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    15
    4
    16
    Er, why not do it properly and change the security policies server side instead of bodging together a solution requiring yet another app, since you say you're the mail server admin?
     
  10. dlemma

    dlemma Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    I guess you are not referring to my reply, so I ask it again: is there any way/app to setup the unlock pattern instead of the pw?
    Thx
     
  11. dlemma

    dlemma Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    Hey, I found a way.:D

    I previously removed the pw trough Lock Picker.
    Then I installed from Market the widget "LockPattern OnOff", free app.
    This allowed me to define the unlock pattern and now I can enable or disable it with just 1 click.:)

    The only pity is that in the phone settings, there is still only the option to change the security password and there is no way I can change any option on the lock pattern.:(

    Any clue on a way / app to do this?
     
  12. bpedersen

    bpedersen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    I am looking for the same thing. Was hoping to clear Cache, but no go.
    Just want to be able to turn it back on when needed.
     
  13. garym

    garym Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    Another way to get around this is to install another app to handle exchange mail.
    I am trialling Touchdown at the moment.
    This moves the pin requirement from the screen lock to the mail app.
    Your security policy may still dictate how often you need to type in the pin though. Mine allows me to go up to an hour.
     
  14. tivo2you

    tivo2you Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    With that app does it still sync the contacts and everything?
     
  15. bpedersen

    bpedersen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    The latest update Fixed this issue. It can now be turned on and off with no issues.
     
  16. Hippotech

    Hippotech Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    68
    11
    18
    Various IT stuff and bits !
    Chelmsford, UK
    I use switch pro - you can control bluetooth, wifi etc as well as the locking all from a single widget.

    Hippo
     
  17. jpp111

    jpp111 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    It is possible to have an unlock pattern but no password, however, the unlock pattern must be enabled before the activesync/exchange email account is enabled. After the email is enabled you will have both a password and unlock pattern - simply use LockPicker to remove the password. If you already have the email account enabled, you need to remove it, turn the unlock pattern on, then re-enable your email and use LockPicker.
     
  18. mikecroy

    mikecroy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    The Netherlands
    Hi I am also using Touchdown - it has added a pin requirement for the mail app. I have removed the Android exhange synchronisation from the default mail app and from the accounts, but I still have to enter a pin every time the phone locks. Once is OK, but twice is pretty annoying. How can I remove one or the other?
    Cheers
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...