1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Removed SD Card

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by garethjw001, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. garethjw001

    garethjw001 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Please can somebody on here save me from going insane!!!

    I have searched this and many other forums and tried everything I can find.

    I changed from a Blackberry to the X10i and had a SD card in the blackberry that I put in the x10 as it did not have one. It appeared to work initially but I held me phone slightly to one side and the phone went off and when it came back on it said that I the SD card had a failure and to format it. I tried this and it didnt work.

    So far I have tried the following:

    1).Removing SD card, starting phone, turning phone off, putting SD card back in and restarting the phone - get the message Removed SD card

    2). Trying to access the SD card via the PC using a USB but it will not connect as it says there is no SD card in place but there is

    3). I have tried 3 different SD cards, some SDHC and some normal SD cards but all say Removed SD card

    4). Formatting a SD, a full format at that (FAT32) and still it says Removed SD card

    5). Carefully removing and reinserting the SD card in its slot

    6). I dont have the option to do a full reset

    7). All SD option under settings are greyed out so cant select anything there either

    8). The phone is completely updated and running on 2.1

    I am now completely at my wits end and am considering buying another x10 as I cant stick this problem no more. Is this a common fault?

    Would taking it to a place where you can get phones unlocked fix the problem with software they may have?

    Is it a hardware problem with that part of the phone and if so can it be changed?

    What can I do? Its so frustrating, please help.............
     

    Advertisement

  2. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa

    So phone works fine without the SDCard?

    When you hit the Menu button on the phone, and goto Settings->SDCard and Phone....for the card it says what? Unavailable or something else?

    The card you are using, how big is it and what kind?

    Mine is a 16GB Micro SD HC and it has a number 2 in a circle on it.

    How and where have you tried formatting it?
     
  3. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa
    Your SDCard isn't read only or something is it? It doesn't have a little tiny switch on it or anything?

    "SD Card blank or has unsupported filesystem" -

    If it doesn't work, what error does it give?
     
  4. garethjw001

    garethjw001 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hi guys

    Thanks for the replies.

    When I go into SD card and phone storage settings it says that the sd card is unavailable and everything is greyed out.

    The card in there at the minute is a scandisk 4gb sdhc card which I bought last night. I have also tried a 2gb sdhc and a 1gb sc and all give the same SD card removed and in settings its unavailable.

    My sd card reader broke this morning so accessed the sd card through my sat nav on windows 7. I selected the sd card through the sat nav and right clicked and selected format. I did the full format and not the quick format but still the same result.

    Any help is very much appreciated.
     
  5. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa
    Well, I have no clue what file format your sat nav would format the card to use.

    I assume you tried using the SDcard right out of the box too before formatting it and sticking it in the sat nav?

    So I guess downloading that app that resets the SD card to its factory default, without a card reader that is impossible.

    The gold contacts on the SD card look fine and when you stick it in the slot it does click in there?

    I would do a backup and stick one of those SDCards in and try and reset the phone completely by downloading SEUS from Sony and doing a complete reflash of 2.1 with that card in the phone. Maybe it missed copying something during the update. Even if it came with 2.1 installed, it might be missing something...some driver or something that might be missing off the phone.

    And if that didn't work I would probably bring it to a mobile phone store and tell them you can't get the Card to work....hopefully they will be able to confirm that....then just replace the phone with another x10. I haven't seen this happen before.
     

Share This Page

Loading...