1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root "removed throttling" listed as one of the goodies in custom ROM?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TRS-80, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. TRS-80

    TRS-80 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    404
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Does that mean what I think it means? That we will be able to get higher up/down LTE data rates? If so, GIDDY! :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. ciper

    ciper Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    368
    83
    53
    There is no evidence that the throttling is active. On carriers that do use the throttling it is activated only after a certain number of gigabytes are downloaded.

    In other words it most likely will have no effect.
     
  3. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    in other words its server sided and not client sided meaning not controlled by our phones but by their network?
     
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    depends, on tmobile you are throttled to edge speeds, on sprint you have unlimited data at 3g/4g speeds.

    what it basically does in a nutshell is kinda like http pipelining, allowing for more "pipes" if you will to carry bandwidth.. no idea what effect this will have on lte as ive never used it. but it works pretty good on sprint's cdma :D
     
  5. ciper

    ciper Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    368
    83
    53
  6. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    again thats for tmobile, who knows you to edge after 2-5GB's (not sure what it all is now with current plans was 5gb when i was with em)
     

Share This Page

Loading...