1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Removing Bloatware from AT&T Note 3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xenonsupra, Sep 17, 2013.

  1. xenonsupra

    xenonsupra Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013

    Sep 16, 2013
    78
    27
    23
    I am an iPhone user who has preordered the Note III. It will be my first android device after using 6 iPhones and multiple iPads.

    I'm curious what the best ways are to go about removing any bloatware that comes preinstalled on the device. I am not looking to root the phone but would like to clean it up a bit and get it running as fast as possible.

    Thanks for the help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Scootmien

    Scootmien Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    552
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    552
    362
    133
    Male
    South UK
    Unfortunately, if you aren't looking at rooting the device, the best thing you can do is to stop, disable and hide the apps from the screen. the only way to remove apps is by rooting and even then care must be taken that removal of one app doesn't break device functionality in some way as some pre-installed apps are linked.
     
    zendroid and xenonsupra like this.
  3. xenonsupra

    xenonsupra Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013

    Sep 16, 2013
    78
    27
    23
    Thanks.

    So from what I've read this is my best option for cleaning things up....

    Settings -> Applications Manager
    Uninstall Updates
    Restore to Factory Version
    Disable
     
  4. zendroid

    zendroid Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013

    My concern would be that it removes all updates, not just those for carrier apps...

    Comments anyone?
     
  5. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    It only does it for the app selected... So it would have to be done on each one no chance of it doing it for non carrier bloatware unless you go into that app...
     
    zendroid likes this.
  6. zendroid

    zendroid Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013

    Not having done this before, I found upon trying, that one must select the individual app first. That makes perfect sense. I disabled a few, but not all AT&T apps as somewhere I read to be careful as some might affect others that are needed for proper operation. So far so good :)

    Thanks
     
  7. meat1968

    meat1968 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013

    Oct 25, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    what about installing an unbranded firmware via odin
     
  8. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    8,123
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    8,123
    4,487
    713
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Is there one?
     

Share This Page

Loading...