1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Removing Bloatware HTC Evo

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by steveltx, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. steveltx

    steveltx Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    23
    0
    35
    does anyone have a list of whats safe to remove from a sprint htc evo?
     

    Advertisement

  2. baddubbin

    baddubbin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    60
    1
    16
  3. steveltx

    steveltx Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    23
    0
    35
    thanks.. but is there a list with the titles of the bloatware not the technical aspect of it?
     
  4. laredo7mm

    laredo7mm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    379
    77
    53
    If you can't figure out the name of the app from the apk name, you shouldn't be messing around with it...IMO.
     
  5. smokescreen

    smokescreen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Forgive my ignorance here, but to remove this bloatware you do have to root the phone first right? or can this just be done via command line?
     
  6. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    Root,root.
     
  7. teknagen

    teknagen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    97
    13
    18
    Socal OC
    Never delete any of them just freeze them with titanium backup app! if you sticking with stock rom any ota updates will check for files and if its missing you wont be able to update.
     
  8. tmwilsoniv

    tmwilsoniv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    152
    12
    48
    Any OTA Updates will also remove root, which you must have to remove or freeze unwanted bloatware. You may enjoy the benefits of OTA Updates without accepting them and losing root. Simply wait a day or so until the craftmasters over at XDA release a rooted version.
     
  9. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    I learned this the hard way...though i backed up the stock ups before uninstalling with titanium them I couldn't reinstall...

    what a mess trying to find all of those apps and put them somewhere safe (which I now have if anyone needs lol)
     
  10. Doomsquadxxx

    Doomsquadxxx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Cali.
    I just frooze anything that looks stupid ended up with 52 frozen crap apps ..I might be wrong but my phone is working good. Well decent lol
     
  11. dmsatax1x

    dmsatax1x Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    HELP PLEASE. I've been trying for hours now to get a handle on this. Have just rooted my Evo with the newest REVOked and made a nandroid backup as well. My problem is actually removing the stock apps that i don't want. i installed RootExplorer and found where the apps like amazonmp3, nascar, etc are located......BUT when i select each app and try to delete i get this message "amazonmp3.apk cannot be deleted because the file system is read-only". Does anyone know what i'm doing wrong with rootexplorer or otherwise? I also have found another method to uninstall unwanted apps by going into the command menu. My problem is when i go to RUN>>CMD, what comes up isnt just C:\ but instead C:\Users\david>
    and when i type in anything having to do with ADB it just doesnt work.

    Help please, i'm a major noob.

    Thanks in advance
     
  12. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Yes..u need to use titanium an freeze the apps...it really is the easy way
     
  13. tmwilsoniv

    tmwilsoniv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    152
    12
    48
    You might try an easier path. Download Titanium Backup from the Market. I use the free version... it works fine. T.B. does more than just "Back-up," it gives you easy, from the phone, 1 click options to freeze, delete, uninstall anything on your phone. Freezing is the safest route, as you can unfreeze any frozen goods that may require defrosting in the future.

    Another option yet is to flash a ROM that already has much of the bloatware removed. It's safely tucked in a folder and not in use. These apps will remain hidden unless you pull them out of their folder and install them.
     
  14. dmsatax1x

    dmsatax1x Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    ok thanks guys. i downloaded Titanuim backup and deleted the apps for now as i dont have a card or anything to donate from to get the freezing options unlocked. I figure if i need em i can alway revert to the backup...hopefully i wont have to.
     
  15. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Restoring from the backup usually doesn't work on the stock apps...I recently posted the file of stock alms in a thread...would nt be a bad idea to search that and bookmark the file
     
  16. mplsnst

    mplsnst Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    Root Explorer opens in read only mode by default so you don't delete anything important by accident. It will say "Mounted as r/o" at the top of the screen. Hit the gray "Mount R/W" button. The label will change to 'Mounted as r/w' (ie. read/write), and you'll be able to delete anything you want.
     
  17. iluvandroid6879

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    wanna be a graphic designer
    a house lol
    i have titanium backup lite so i cant freeze apps, so instead i stupidly uninstalled nascar and how do i get it back, i even factory reset it.
    thanks in advance
     
  18. dmsatax1x

    dmsatax1x Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    thanks for the heads up Mr. Ed
     
  19. JuanPablo

    JuanPablo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    hello, I've tried to use titanium backup but it, and setcpu, say root access failed.
     
  20. sintricate

    sintricate Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    124
    9
    36
    Philadelphia, PA
    Is your phone rooted?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...