1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Repair TV: need new bulb

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by dan330, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,063
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,063
    3,674
    1,123
    hi all,

    I have a Mitsubishi 60" DLP HD TV: C series: WD60735 that was purchase from Circuit City 9/01/08.

    the picture is now very dim (started yesterday)... not part of brightness setting... checked it.

    I tried all other inputs: DVD, XBox, cable, satellite.. all have the same dim picture. so i am guessing the bulbs/lamp needs to be replace.

    the part number is : 915B403001.

    I was just wondering if there are any tv techs here that can
    1. confirm that i need to replace the Lamp or something else.
    2. suggest where I might get a good deal and good supplier of the Lamp. maybe even local to Ft worth texas.

    thanks,
    Dan
     

    Advertisement

  2. strodda

    strodda Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    281
    51
    53
    Male
    i have a 65" mitsu dlp. ive had this link saved for over a year, for when that day comes.


    Bluestar International Components, Ltd.


    its the cheapest ive found because its the bulb only. but its an easy swap out of the case.
     
  3. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    How many Android users does it take to change a light bulb?
     
    NightHawk877 likes this.
  4. gkperformance

    gkperformance Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    26
    0
    35
    I need info on this also. My uncle has a nice big older tv that just has a line across the screen and was wondering if it was the bulb. I would like to try to replace it myself because if you could get a bulb cheep enough it would be worth it. Tv's in my opinion are cheep these days and I dont know if it would be worth paying someone to fix one. I dont even know of any around here! Come on in tv techs
     
  5. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,063
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,063
    3,674
    1,123
    Depending on the model.. Lamps can range from $50 to $250..
     
  6. strodda

    strodda Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    281
    51
    53
    Male
    i had an older floor standing hdtv that i gave away. it worked, but had an issue with the power circuit board. with age, the solder points on the board became worn out or corroded. cleaning and re-soldering helped, but it was still time for a new tv.

    for what you can get one of those tv's for, i suggest you toss it. not worth paying to get it fixed and the work needed to figure out what the actual weak link is, in my opinion again, not worth it.
     
  7. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,063
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,063
    3,674
    1,123

    thanks man..

    i ordered mine from amazon... there was some very good ratings...
     
  8. 007shark

    007shark Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    242
    40
    43
    Male
    Electronics Tech
    FL
    The tv should have given you a message to replace your lamp. Make sure after you replace your lamp to reset the lamp timer. The tv should give you a message to do this right after you turn it on with the new lamp.
     
  9. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,063
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,063
    3,674
    1,123
    Nope.. Never saw the message.. Did not see it in setting
     

Share This Page

Loading...