1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Replace HTC Lockscreen, an Incredible Find!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by whitewallman, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. dannygberg

    dannygberg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    48
    68
    33
    You have to go into your slider settings to remove it. It's technically not a 'widget' slider.
     

    Advertisement

    JoeIncredible likes this.
  2. JoeIncredible

    JoeIncredible Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    44
    2
    16
    Okay, I got it, I had changed the option in look and feel to Rotary Slider, which puts the non-removable rotary slider at the bottom of the lockscreen. I just changed that option back to No Slider. But is there a way to choose No Slider (giving me control of my layout) and add rotary sliders instead of regular ones? It seems that if you select No Slider, the add option does not provide anyway to select Rotary. Am I missing something? If not, that would be a nice option to add Kevin, the rotary is pretty cool.
     
  3. JoeIncredible

    JoeIncredible Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    44
    2
    16
    Thanks, it would be cool if it was.
     
  4. rdgn123

    rdgn123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    there are still issues with the htc weather animations with the new update. even if i set them to display on "home only", they still show up on other screens when i unlock the phone. if i set widgetlocker to force the phone to unlock straight to home, the weather animations don't work at all. can you resolve this?
     
  5. freddyttt

    freddyttt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    493
    45
    43
    whats the chances of being able to customize the Rotary slider:D
     
  6. dbrits

    dbrits Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Southern California
    I love this app, but I've been experiencing a problem with it lately...

    If I have an app opened and the screen goes to sleep, when I wake the phone, I'm taken back to the home screen instead of the open app. My Incredible (running stock 2.2, and the most recent version of WidgetLocker) is rooted, so I'm using the "Root Bypass of Five Seconds" instead of the HomeHelper, and I have LauncerPro set as my default launcher. On the Advance Menu, I have "Always unlock to home" unchecked. If it makes any difference, I also have a security pattern enabled.

    As long as I have WidgetLocker enabled, I'm always returned to my home screen instead of the open app. I've tried using Sense instead of LauncherPro, turning off the security pattern, clearing the app's data, and tinkering with all of WidgetLocker's settings - everything to no avail. The only time I'm returned to an open app instead of the home screen is if I have disabled WidgetLocker, and I like this app way too much to disable it.

    I can't tell you the exact date when I began experiencing this issue, and I'm unsure if this related to any of the apps on my phone. For what it's worth, here is a list of apps on my phone.

    So, any suggestions? Much appreciated. :eek:
     
  7. Casbah

    Casbah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    187
    19
    58
    IT but really despise having to do it for a living
    Northern Virginia
    With the latest update and the rotary slider, is anyone experiencing and issue when they set an alarm that they can't turn it off? Just happened to me this morning and I had to turn the phone off to get it to stop. :(
     
  8. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    183
    130
    68
    WidgetLocker developer
    Chicago
    There's a few special cases that will cause this. One is if the tutorial or something is still open then WidgetLocker will detect it's about to unlock into itself and instead go to home. It seems something might cause it to get stuck in this state. You can try opening the tutorial and exiting from the skip button to try to reset it, or reboot the phone. Another special case is if it's about to unlock into the NoLED program, which I don't imagine you are running. finally if for some reason WidgetLocker was unable to put itself into the background, i think this could only occur if there were no other tasks in history.

    Planned, I just have to figure out the physics of it if it's to have more than 2 items.

    Sense alarm? Can you send a Settings > Report bug? There should have at least been a notification you could activate to dismiss it.

    You mean any home screen? or another application? Are you using QuickDesk or something? That could maybe throw off the Home detection.
    As for the always unlock to home breaking animations, that's a bug and will be fixed in the next update.
     
    dbrits and RadYOacTiVe like this.
  9. dbrits

    dbrits Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Southern California
    Thanks for the suggestions. I reboot the phone almost every morning after a bump charge, and I tried opening and exiting the tutorial as well. Sadly, WidgetLocker is still taking me to the home screen instead of the open app. I also tried uninstalling WidgetLocker, rebooting the phone, then reinstalling it, but no luck with that either. And you're correct: I'm not running NoLED. I'm really trying to find out what the problem is so I can avoid a doing factory reset, but I'm beginning to think that's going to be my only option.

    Also, is it normal for the "Block home in other app" option in the Advance menu to be grayed out?
     
  10. rdgn123

    rdgn123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    sorry, i meant any home screen. i'm completely stock. is anyone else experiencing this problem?
     
  11. rdgn123

    rdgn123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    also i have wl to hide incoming calls. i noticed that whenever i slide to unlock, the answer call screen is inconsistent. sometimes it's the sense slide down to answer and sometimes it's the the screen that has the "answer" and "ignore" buttons. is there any way to have it default to the latter?
     
  12. nkk

    nkk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    758
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    758
    565
    163
    So I am beyond annoyed with this. It seems like such a good idea, and it obviously works for many of you, but it causes so many problems for me. Beside the PIn entry issue above (the dev responded to that here), it just makes my phone slower. I start up, and it flashes the notification bar and then makes it disappear. When I unlock it flashes the home screen then goes to stock unlock. It is just plain bad. It may be my ROM (CM 6.0.2) is the problem. At one point it just became unresponsive and I had to battery pull.

    Anyway, just wanted to share my problems. I really hope this works soon as I love the idea and the rotary lock screen.

    -Nkk
     
  13. toord

    toord Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    Nikk, I'm willing to bet that's what probably is causing the issue. Their window manager might be intercepting events fired by the system that widget locker is expecting.
     
  14. JoeIncredible

    JoeIncredible Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    44
    2
    16

    Two would be great, thats all I want anyway. Although a rotary with more toggles sounds like a neat idea.
     
  15. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    only problem ive had lately is that when i wake the phone up using WL, it shows the list of "recent apps" asking if i want to use one of those... is this from WL?
     
  16. masully1984

    masully1984 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    152
    9
    36
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Just got an email from the developer, said he is planning on adding the new Droid X lockscreen that was in the 2.2 update!
     
  17. sharper4

    sharper4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    I'll plan on looking at that after he plans to release it. :)
     
  18. REYES

    REYES Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    93
    4
    16
    What does that look like? I downloadedit before but I hate howyou can't change the slider looks.
     
  19. masully1984

    masully1984 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    152
    9
    36
    Pittsburgh, PA
    What do you mean can't change the sliders look? You change them in the preferences.
     
  20. dannygberg

    dannygberg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    48
    68
    33
  21. masully1984

    masully1984 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    152
    9
    36
    Pittsburgh, PA
    If you want to see what it looks like head over to droid life and watch the walkthrough video for 2.2 update
     
  22. masully1984

    masully1984 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    152
    9
    36
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Haha nevermind, nice pic!
     
  23. Terabethia

    Terabethia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,071
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    1,071
    311
    163
    Northern Virginia
    There are currently 5 different sliders in Widget Locker. Or you can use the extra "custom slider" option which allows you to change the functions of the slider.
     
  24. REYES

    REYES Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    93
    4
    16
    I am not referring to the sense ui or rotary lock screen thing but the loof the"custom sliders"when you add the ones on the left and right side. I hate that look. I would prefer they not be slide its at all but something different. Does that make sense? If not, I well post a picture up.
     
  25. Terabethia

    Terabethia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,071
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    1,071
    311
    163
    Northern Virginia
    Sorry, I am not sure what you are talking about.

    So you have the custom slider. With that, you can edit the functions of the two sliding points.

    Is it the look of the custom slider you don't like? Or is it the fact that it "slides"? Would you rather just push a button and not slide it?

    I'm confused :rolleyes: LOL!

    ETA: Attached is a pic of the custom slider. I have the unlock on the left and the flashlight app on the right. The little Care Bear in the middle is an app called MySettings.

    Which part do you not like?

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...