1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Replace HTC Lockscreen, an Incredible Find!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by whitewallman, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    jtwonk:

    Unfortunately that feature of the phone is controlled by the launcher software and not the lockscreen. Anticipated updates for WidgetLocker are rumored to have better communications and music player support, but any improvements like that have been a long time coming. (I think the developer spends more time cracking down on pirates of his apps than updating the apps themselves.)

    Anyway, I am using LauncherPro as my home application and it has a press to accept/decline instead of a slide. The buttons are smaller and precise so I really don't have a problem with accidentally pressing them. Incoming Call Authority - Paid App, Incoming Call Plus - Free App are a couple of app that I found that seem to replace the stock Dialer incoming call screen. Maybe look into those as well...?

    Hope this helps.
     

    Advertisement

    jtwonk likes this.
  2. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    183
    130
    68
    WidgetLocker developer
    Chicago
    Easy Wake Mode does exactly the same things as No Lock unless you're using a security lock, in which case No Lock disables the security and Easy Wake Mode does not.

    I think I got to you by email, but in case others are wondering, there is currently not a way of doing this but I might add it in the future. (Especially if more people show interest in it). I probably will add SMS Popup to be hidden along with chomp or handcent after I do some testing to make sure it responds well to my method of hiding.

    The incoming call screen and the lock screen are independent. HTC Sense will display buttons, rather than sliders, if the stock lock screen is disabled. It can be disabled using Easy Wake Mode (Or NoLock). But this is really just a side effect as WidgetLocker doesn't aim to change the incoming call screen. I'd love to make an incoming call screen replacement tool, but the lock screen has kept me pretty busy and the incoming call screen is more complicated than one might expect.


    I'm rather confused by this post...

    1) The launcher is completely independent of the incoming call screen. I don't know of any launcher that tries to replace the incoming call screen. Perhaps there is a rare one that does, but Launcher Pro does not for sure. Some people might say the "Sense incoming call screen" but that is independent of the "Sense UI Home".
    2) Music player is also completely independent of the incoming call screen... I probably will do built in music controls at some point, but for now I recommend:
    Phantom Music Control - Android app on AppBrain
    [WIDGET] Phantom Music Control for WidgetLocker [UPDATED: JAN 15] - xda-developers
    The dev is very active and we communicate regularly
    3) Pirates are indeed a waste of time. I get bug reports from old versions or cracked out buggy versions or people pretending they've paid for WidgetLocker when they haven't. I don't want to ignore a legitimate user, and sometimes legitimate users restore cracked versions from backup or something, so I still try to reply to these emails. And yeah if a pirate site shows up on my Google Alert for "widgetlocker" I might take the 5 minutes to send a takedown notice. If it bothers you tell the sites to block google from indexing and I won't see it.
    4) It takes me time to develop. I've touched some 30,000 lines of code since 1.2.8.1, probably more code has changed than has remained the same. I've made good progress, but it's still not ready for release. Lots of development time is spent discovering and resolving issues across all the different phones/interfaces. WL 1.2.8.1 is pretty solid with regard to that, which finally gave me a chance to focus on features, cleanup and refactoring, instead of small repairs.
     
  3. ReneeM

    ReneeM Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hi,

    I'm running WL 1.2.8.1 - and love it. But, after about 5-10 uses, my phone reverts back to the standard Hero lock screen. I've tried the various combinations for the 5-second rule, nothing seems to work. I'm not rooted. I'm using a Hero phone, firmware 2.1.

    Am probably going to replace my phone in a few months, so not the end of the world if I can't get it to work with this phone, but I do like the software as I hate the standard lock screen.

    Also, if I open the WL application, then it goes back to working again for another 5-10 times before the Hero lock screen returns. So, I have to start the app, and exit, the app every 10th time I use my phone, more or less.

    Any ideas would be appreciated.
    Thanks.

    ETA.. OK, doesn't seem to be connected to the number of times the phone is unlocked, I just unlocked my phone 30+ times in a row, no problem. So it must be a time thing. 30 minutes, or an hour, after I run the app it stops working and returns to the default lock screen. Will time it and come back with better information.

    20 minutes and it reverts back to the Android default lockscreen. Doesn't even do the flash up of the default then switch to the WL. It just uses the default lockscreen. If I start up the the WL app again, I'll get it to work for another 20 minutes. And yes, before you ask, I did pay for it. I know it 'feels' like a demo version, but I have the full thing.

    Does having a lock pattern interfere? I don't have the lock pattern activated though.
     
  4. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    183
    130
    68
    WidgetLocker developer
    Chicago
    This is definitely not at all related to the 5 second rule.

    It sounds like WidgetLocker is being killed. Are you using a task killer to do so? Some activate when the screen turns off, some activate every X minutes, some activate whenever is most annoying to users and developers.

    If it's not a task killer it may be the system's doing, especially if you aren't using a notification icon. The notification icon tells Android that WidgetLocker doesn't want to be killed. If you are using a notification icon then does it disappear?
     
    wildtouch83 likes this.
  5. ReneeM

    ReneeM Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5

    I recently updated my task killer, and haven't really checked its settings since - hadn't thought of that. Thanks for pointing it out, will look there. :cool:

    Also, I have the WL notification turned off, will turn it back on and see if that helps. :eek:

    Thanks :D

    Update:

    I added WL to the ignore list of my Task Killer, and also turned on the notification. This seemed to resolve the issue.

    I then turned off the notification, as too many things in the notification bar annoys me, and it still seems to be working fine. So I'm putting it down to my too-clever Task Killer.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    as always.... Thanks for being around Kevin to answer questions! It is devs like you that make this board what it is!!
     
  7. 345ban

    345ban Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    great!!3q
     
  8. kwyjibear

    kwyjibear Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I suppose it's okay if you only want to put widgets on your lock screen. But I placed the camera slider thinking it would allow me to use the camera without having to unlock the phone. No luck. I still have to enter the password. It's just that now I select the camera before unlocking the phone as opposed to after.
     
  9. paulmz

    paulmz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    958
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    958
    619
    173
    Male
    Graphic Web Designer @ maurices.com
    Duluth, MN
    Well, needless to say, if you turned off the password protection the camera would work the way you want.

    I guess you just need to determine which feature is more important. But if there are things important enough on the phone that require a password, why would you want any app to bypass that?
     
  10. nkk

    nkk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    758
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    758
    565
    163
    I was wondering if there was any plan (or if it was even possible) to bypass the lockscreen on AOSP ROMS with a PIN set. I swipe WL, but then I get the vanilaa lockscreen. I swipe that, and then I get to the PIn entry. Is there any way to get rid of the vanilla lockscreen step? This works on sense roms, but for some reason not on AOSP.

    Thanks,
    Nkk
     
  11. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    183
    130
    68
    WidgetLocker developer
    Chicago
    Everything is a compromise between security and convenience. In the future I'd like to give the user the option of bypassing the security for certain apps. This way they can chose to allow the camera, but not gmail. But the more security conscious can just have everything require the security input.

    Normally I get rather annoyed with HTC/Motorola/Samsung for their "additions" to Android. However this is one thing HTC did right. They don't as aggressively tie the stock slider to the security input.

    I have a few root-based ideas to get around this, but no implementations yet.
     
  12. freddyttt

    freddyttt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    493
    45
    43
    Hi Kev im have that Boot Down problem again. i forgot the fix.:( after phone sits and a wake it it goes to the HTC screen- 10-15 sec. passes as it boots before i can use the phone-
     
  13. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    183
    130
    68
    WidgetLocker developer
    Chicago
    When you boot your phone Android is slow to load third party applications. However it will load your default Home. Right now your default home is set to HTC Sense, then later all third party apps get started, including WidgetLocker. If you've already dismissed the stock lockscreen WL won't interrupt you by appearing on the screen, but it will still start running in the background ready to take over next time your screen goes off.

    If you enable the HomeHelper then WidgetLocker can start earlier (Settings > Behavior > Select System Home > WL HomeHelper). However with WidgetLocker's HomeHelper as the default, it's possible Android will remove the Sense Launcher from memory causing it to reload/refresh sometimes. In your case I'd recommend go ahead and trying the HomeHelper to get faster WL on boot, and if it's causing reloads then decide between faster WL at boot (default home as HomeHelper) or launcher reloads (default home as Sense)

    Also as a heads up, the HomeHelper is hidden by default in the next update. This is to make WL easier to use and less confusing. However there's still a few things it's good for, such as quick loading at boot, or blocking the Home button while in other apps before unlocking. HomeHelper is still there, just hidden, to enable it after the update you'll need to go to Settings > Advanced > HomeHelper
     
  14. whitewallman

    whitewallman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Widgetlocker 2.0 released today!
    Joy!
     
  15. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    i definitely agree!!
     
  16. Grookes

    Grookes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Just installed this on my mytouch 4g today and love it. One issue... When I turn off my screen, it comes back on by itself 5 seconds later. Is that by design? For now I have to hit my power button twice to turn off my screen.
     
  17. Tiny Turtle

    Tiny Turtle Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    36
    7
    36
    Newspaper prepress (nights)
    Stockholm, Sweden
    No, that is not by design. It should stay off.
     
  18. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    183
    130
    68
    WidgetLocker developer
    Chicago
    PIN/Password security and the "Lock phone after" set to Immediately? Looking into this, work around for now is to set the "Lock phone after" to 3 minutes (System Settings > Security). Only effects Sense 2.0 (Desire HD/Inspire, myTouch 4g)
    -Kevin
     
  19. 06Stang

    06Stang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    280
    27
    43
    Hey Kevin. We had some issues with WidgetLocker and CyanogenMod7. I LOVE the new settings but my widgets disappear on the lock screen some times and after unlock the phone slows down terribly. Any ideas?
     
  20. jbdan

    jbdan Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    I'm really digging the customizations in the new WL. I dropped it for months, but now I'm back! Thanks Kevin

    [​IMG]
     
  21. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    183
    130
    68
    WidgetLocker developer
    Chicago
    Unfortunately this seems to be a CM7 issue and I can't reproduce it myself. Without the Cyanogen team even deeming CM7 worthy of their support or accepting bug reports, I can't justify spending more time looking. You're going to have to switch roms or wait until CM7 is stable. I suspect CM7 isn't properly saving widget permissions so it's deny WL of the widgets. All this has to be fixed in the CM7 side of things.
     
  22. mach1man

    mach1man Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    857
    68
    78
    woods of VA
    @ Kevin
    I really like your app. Im having a lil problem though when using widget locker and NoLed. If I get a gmail during boot up the icon pops up then goes away leaving a black screen with the soft lights lit. Nothing will work to get me to the home screen unless I hold down the power button till the power menu appears, then if I hit the back button everything works normal. It only happens at start up though. Before both widget locker and NoLed updated last everything worked in harmony. Please help. Thanks
     
  23. Ashhong

    Ashhong Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hi Kevin, just purchased WidgetLocker and its great! I have a couple questions and requests though. I saw above you said CM7 has some problems with WL. I am on CM7 so that may be the cause of a few of these.

    1. I am using GoSMS. If I receive a text and dont touch my phone, the screen turns off as it should. I turn the screen on and there is no notification popup for the SMS as there should be. Also, my menu bar does not have the notification. It's as if I read it. The notification light also does not work half the time if I dont touch the phone after receiving the text.

    2. My home button is unlocking the phone and I dont know why. Am I missing a setting?

    3. Any way you could add a feature to have the wallpaper for the lockscreen change to a random picture in a certain folder?

    4. I have the Call button set to open the dialer. Before it would open the Contacts menu. I rebooted the phone and now it opens the Call Log menu. Any ideas?

    Thanks for the great app
     
  24. mistaj33

    mistaj33 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    168
    32
    53
    Computer Consultant
    New Orleans
    I'm experiencing the same problem. My temp solution is to disable "Auto-start" in NoLED's "Miscellaneous" settings. You just have to remember to start NoLED manually after you reboot.
     
  25. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    183
    130
    68
    WidgetLocker developer
    Chicago
    Users have come through and figured this out!
    xda-developers - View Single Post - [APP] WidgetLocker Lockscreen replacement
    Basically disable ThemeChooser at least while setting things up.

    Aside from disabling NoLED's start at boot can you try disabling WL's Appear at boot option? You won't need to manually start WL as it still starts, it just won't display right away and maybe this will help.

    (a) is my fault (b) is their fault. I'll contact them about (b). I'm working on (a) also but it's a bit complicated.

    Uncheck Allow Home Button in Settings > Buttons & Inputs. If it's not that then Settings > Report Bug and I can look at your setup.

    Possibly in the future

    I don't think this would be related to WL. Haven't heard any other reports of it.

    -Kevin
     

Share This Page

Loading...