1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Replace lock screen with pattern/pin/password unlock?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chadschultz, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. chadschultz

    chadschultz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011

    Nov 8, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    I realize there have been several other threads with this question, but I'm hoping by now there might be a solution...

    Is there a way to replace the lock screen with a security unlock, or to skip the normal lock screen when going to the security unlock?

    It seems silly to me, to unlock the phone, to press the power button, slide the regular lock screen, and then enter the pattern/pin/password to unlock the phone. Way too many steps for something I do a dozen times a day.

    There are apps that bypass the lock screen, but they bypass the security unlock as well, skipping right over the pattern unlock as well when you turn the device on.

    There are many apps that replace or modify the basic lock screen with their own features... showing extra information, providing quick application launch sliders, etc... it seems like it wouldn't be hard for a custom lock screen to have some pattern/pin/password unlock. The ideal would be to press the power button to turn on the screen, tap in the password or pin or slide the pattern, and then the phone unlocks, without needing an extra unlock step or an extra button to enter the pattern/pin/password.

    I've searched the Android Market, but come up with nothing. Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,208
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    What phone do you have? On my Galaxy, if I have set it up to pattern unlock, if I press home or power button, I see the pattern lockscreen immediately. From what I know, its supposed to be like that by default.
     
  3. chadschultz

    chadschultz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011

    Nov 8, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    HTC Inspire 4G. Maybe it's HTC's accursed Sense customizations.
     
  4. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,208
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    I think so. My friend's old Hero also had to go through the sense lockscreen before he got to his pattern.
     
  5. chadschultz

    chadschultz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011

    Nov 8, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    For posterity, I'll note the above is correct--apparently this is yet another piece of functionality that HTC Sense screws up in their efforts to look pretty. I finally rooted my phone and loaded CyanogenMod 7 onto it--problem solved. Now I can set it to skip the ordinary lockscreen, going straight to the security lock, and for the security lock to automatically unlock once the correct pattern/pin/code is entered (without needing to press a submit button). Yay!
     
  6. Saltine713

    Saltine713 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    690
    55
    98
    Podcaster
    NY
    Well, the HTC has capacitive buttons, so you need to press the power button to wake the phone. How else are you going to?
     
  7. chadschultz

    chadschultz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011

    Nov 8, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Perhaps I was unclear, Saltine.

    The old, unsatisfactory method of security unlocking a phone with a stock Inspire:
    1. Press power button
    2. Slide to unlock
    3. Enter pin/pattern/password
    4. Press confirmation button

    With CyanogenMod 7 I can configure it this way:
    1. Press power button
    2. Enter pin/pattern/password

    Much faster and more convenient! :)
     
  8. phiend99

    phiend99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Chadschultz, I have the same problem, and I use a MotoDroidX. Your workaround looks great (using CyanogenMod 7) but I have been avoiding rooting the phone for various reasons. Wondering if you, or anyone else, has a native fix? I'm running FroYo.
     
  9. timmyjoe42

    timmyjoe42 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    Cincinnati
    Have any of you tried AntiLock app? It only works with the pattern unlock, not the PIN for some reason. I was using it until I found the setting in CM7. There is also an ad-free version out there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...