1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Replace S-Voice with Google Now (Home button double tap)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by basegod, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. basegod

    basegod Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    21
    14
    18
    Works like a charm - No root necessary

    Go to S Voice app > Settings > Uncheck
     

    Advertisement

  2. MassacrMan

    MassacrMan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    482
    53
    53
    Wow, thank you!
     
  3. Rockinfigs

    Rockinfigs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    286
    21
    38
     
  4. carme4

    carme4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    Nov 17, 2012
    71
    12
    18
    Thanks!! Even I was able to get this to work!! I don't like S Voice either.
     
  5. Harplayr

    Harplayr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    Nov 17, 2012
    152
    13
    38
    At first it didn't work, but I went to
    manage applications
    Touchwiz Home
    Clear defaults

    Now it's working like a champ.
     
  6. ceva321

    ceva321 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    not working for me

    i've followed the instructions and nada :(
     
  7. Harplayr

    Harplayr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    Nov 17, 2012
    152
    13
    38
    Have you tried clearing the touchwiz defaults?

    That did the trick for me.
     
  8. basegod

    basegod Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    21
    14
    18
    No prob. I felt like many people were missing out

    I just wish Samsung offered the option to choose, rather than forcing S voice
     
  9. galpdawg

    galpdawg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    268
    30
    43
    Jersey
    you can also download nova launcher to replace home button with google as well. i have home button 1 press for google while on home screen, double pressing home button enables svoice. You can also enable swiping up with the app launcher to enable google now (nova prime only I think)
     
  10. famished

    famished Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    Will this work through bluetooth? Has anyone found a good hands-free method without root? S Voice is really stinking it up/
     
  11. lcneed

    lcneed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    601
    99
    78
    SoCal
    The only thing I missed about S-Voice is voice dialing. Google Voice Search could never dial the correct contact. Most of the time it will go out and search the web instead of suggesting one of contacts when I say "Call XXX mobile". I have settings set to search Contacts too, but it doesn't help at all. S-Voice seems to work 100% of the time on Voice Dial.

    I just wish Google Voice will integrate better with the phone OS.
     
  12. DarkKnight1990

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Thank you very much for this.
     
  13. robrie

    robrie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    37
    6
    16
    This is awesome! Thanks a bunch for the info!
     
  14. CameraShy

    CameraShy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013

    Jan 19, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Excellent! Thank you basegod. There is one more related trick that you or someone else may be able to help with. As bad as S Voice is, one thing that it can do is integrate with my Motorola H730 Bluetooth headset meaning, when I click the button on the H730 Bluetooth, it invokes S Voice.

    Is there a way to instead invoke Google Now when the Bluetooth button is pressed?
     
  15. basegod

    basegod Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    21
    14
    18
    You're welcome CameraShy

    Sorry. I'm not sure....I don't own any Bluetooth headsets. Hopefully someone from this thread will be able to chime in and help
     
  16. SuperFist

    SuperFist Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013

    Oct 26, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    This is the ONLY reason I'm keeping S-Voice!
     

Share This Page

Loading...