1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Replace system application, not wont install new apk

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LarsWall, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. LarsWall

    LarsWall Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    I searched and couldn't find an answer. I'm trying to install a different version of genie.apk than the one that came from the OTA 2.2. I uninstalled the stock version, and now when I try to install the new one through root manager, or astro, it says that application wasn't installed. Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    337
    59
    53
    CCTV operator
    Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX by way of Long Island, NY
    Try a reboot, then install.
     
  3. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Try placing it in system/app using Root Explorer and launch from there.
     
  4. LarsWall

    LarsWall Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    Tried both of those, neither worked. Mounted in Root Explorer using R/w and this is what i see [​IMG]
     
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Maybe the version you are trying isn't compatible? At any rate, you could try to push it via adb if you're familiar w/ it.

    adb push GenieWidget.apk /system/app/
     
  6. LarsWall

    LarsWall Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    I'm going to learn more about ADB and try that. Also make sure if the apk I have is correct.
     
  7. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yeah, I'm getting fuzzier by the day since leaning so hard on Root Explorer anymore but if you put the .apk into the sdk tools folder, you'd then boot to clockwork and mount system. Then at CMD:


    cd\sdk\tools
    adb shell

    adb push GenieWidget.apk /system/app/
    adb reboot

    (note the space after .apk)

    Might be wise to have somebody double check my commands by memory. :D Also, not sure if you could/should do the same command for GenieWidget.odex /system/app or not and if so, if it is pushed by association with the .apk or what?
     
    LarsWall likes this.
  8. The_Law2

    The_Law2 Member
    Rank:
     #1,139
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    45
    12
    18
    You don't go into adb shell. Just adb push from the tools directory. And if it still doesn't work after that, then yeah it's not compatible. I have the clear genie widget if people need me to post it.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...