1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Replacing SD card now I've rooted & flash ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aldredd, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. aldredd

    aldredd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    93
    5
    36
    Senior Systems Analyst
    Milton Keynes, England
    Hi, I've successfully rooted, and flash a new rom - so big thanks to add the guides on here - i took my time, read, re-read, and read again everything, and all went to plan.

    I just wonder - now I've got a2sd+ using my ext3 partition - how would I go about replacing the SD card? Before it was simple - just copy the data to a new card - seemples.

    I guess I can use gpart to format the new drive as required, but how do I then transfer everything?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    format/partition the new card in a cardreader using gparted
    backup the rom in recovery
    copy the backup to hard drive and new card
    put new card in device and boot to recovery
    restore backup

    job done
     
    eric_son and aldredd like this.
  3. aldredd

    aldredd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    93
    5
    36
    Senior Systems Analyst
    Milton Keynes, England
    thanks Rastaman-FB - makes perfect sense.
     
  4. albert_htc

    albert_htc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    215
    1
    36
    Hi

    I've been wondering about this..

    Does a nadroid backup, backup the ROM and the apps etc on my EXT3 partition ? Just not the data on my FAT32 ??

    What's the best way to back up EVERYTHING ? ROM, DATA, EXT3, FAT32 etc.. ?

    Thanks
     
  5. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    Nandroid does everything apart from the fat partition.

    Nandroid backup old card
    Partition new card
    Copy everything on fat partition old to new
    Swap cards
    Nandroid restore

    Did this a few days back. Much easier if you have a card reader as you can make a direct copy rather than via a hard disk
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    if you use amonRA make sure you choose nand + ext
     
  7. albert_htc

    albert_htc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    215
    1
    36
    @ GrenW
    Thanks for confirming this.

    I presume I can keep these nandroid backups on my PC, as backups ?
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    yepola
     
  9. aldredd

    aldredd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    93
    5
    36
    Senior Systems Analyst
    Milton Keynes, England
    oh no - things not going to plan peeps!

    I've formatted my new card using gpart, with 6.5gb fat32 & 1gb ext3
    I performed a backup from Restore.
    Copied everything, included the backup images, to the new card
    turned phone back on into restore, and restored the new image file

    However, when I restart the phone, I'm just taken to a fresh installation of Leedroid!

    Where have I gone wrong guys?

    Edit:
    Oh no, I think i know what went wrong - ran out of space on the sd for the backup to complete, which I reckon means I'll have to go to an older backup :eek:(
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    are you using amonRA or clockworkmod recovery?
     
  11. aldredd

    aldredd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    93
    5
    36
    Senior Systems Analyst
    Milton Keynes, England
    clockworkmodrecovery.

    In the end, I bit the bullet and just went with a wipe & re-install. my SD full full of junk anyway from over a year of downloading random (often rubbish) apps and them leaving bits of files & folders everywhere. Been fun remembering all my apps, settings etc!
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    hahahaha, ok the only reason i asked is because amonRA is because you can backup without backing up EXT if you are not careful

    this isnt an issue with CWM
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...