1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

"Reply" button on posts AWOL

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box & Feedback' started by Slug, Mar 7, 2016.

  1. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I've noticed this for the past few days, but waited to flag it until I was sure it wasn't forum-specific.

    Every thread now has a single "Reply" button at the top under the title, which takes me to the Quick Reply box at the bottom of the page. Replying to specific posts with quotes now requires selecting the "Quote" button on the post followed by "Insert quotes" then finally "Quote these messages".

    Google Chrome (49.0.2623.75 m). Issue also verified with Internet Explorer 11 (v11.0.9600.18097)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,262
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,262
    47,457
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I think that is by design. :(
     
  3. whitehat

    whitehat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    288
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    329
    260
    288
    Male
    Putnam County, NY
    I didn't notice this until Slug mentioned it. I also confirm it with Firefox on my Windows 7 desktop.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    While it's deliberate, I wouldn't call it "design". o_O
     
    Hadron and codesplice like this.
  5. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    this part, is totally ill conceived, and I have not been able to make it work period.

    Replying to specific posts with quotes now requires selecting the "Quote" button on the post followed by "Insert quotes" then finally "Quote these messages".
     
    Gmash likes this.
  6. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,919
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    I hadn't noticed it either, but I've been using my antiquated version of TT on my phone mostly.

    Since the cat is out of the bag though I think we need to gather the pitchforks and torches! Fix it or the newly formed, incredibly uninformed mob will have no choice but wreak havoc and just generally run amok. :D
     
  7. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,262
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,262
    47,457
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    [​IMG]

    That only took me three clicks.:goofydroid:
     
    Hadron, codesplice, shalemail and 4 others like this.
  8. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,702
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    It seems more user friendly to have the reply button included in each post.


    Those steps work for me, where does it fail when you attempt it?
     
    rootabaga and MLSS like this.
  9. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    I click on Quote, and nothing happens, just changes to a (-) Quote, no text shows up for me to being quoting to.
     
  10. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    It shows up under the text entry field. It took me a while to even notice it. It should at least be red ... probably flashing ... with dancing penguins on top of it. :thinking:

    2016-03-07.png
     
    codesplice and Unforgiven like this.
  11. Gmash

    Gmash Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Noticed this as well, Opera browser on Android. I was hoping it was a bug that would be ironed out, if this is intentional, that's crazy. Why would the powers that be make it harder/more annoying to post?
     
  12. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,919
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    I did advocate violence and rioting but, for the love of everything holy, we have to leave the penguins out of this. I can't stand idly by as they get dragged in. Bears. Bears dance. [emoji199]
     
    rootabaga, Xyro, codesplice and 3 others like this.
  13. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,311
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,311
    2,388
    693
    Male
    USA
    [​IMG]

    Just testing reply. :D:D:p
     
  14. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Really? REALLY?

    [​IMG]
     
    codesplice, shalemail and MLSS like this.
  15. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,919
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Well. OK. But they are cute. We don't need cute, it sort of kills the whole 'give is our reply button or else' uprising thing. Bears just seem more menacing and we need menacing or the crusade may be for naught.
     
    shalemail likes this.
  16. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Lock the developers in a room with dancing penguins for an hour. That's all we'll need. Besides, with bears you have to watch where you walk in the woods. o_O
     
  17. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,680
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Not a good decision to remove the reply button from each post if that's by design. Terrible in fact.
     
    Xyro, syzmic, psionandy and 8 others like this.
  18. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    Okay, even at the Tender Young Age of just 73, I have learned that I need to larn a thang or two...

    so, I playes with that thang....

    and I fingered out whut them programolists are doing to us....

    it seems that they want us to be able to click on as many posts as we like to quote them, all in one post, rather than 50 posts at a time to just a single Quote................ Okay, I will kneel down, and be Knighted for my Stupidity, but it does seem to have a rime or raisin to it.... ;)

     
  19. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,702
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    But you could also do that using the Reply button.

    When I clicked the reply button on multiple posts it would automatically quote all of them in the reply box, same as the Quote button but in fewer steps.
     
  20. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    um, I don't see one

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Gmash

    Gmash Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Yep, you could always multi quote, but I think they're probably trying to encourage more people to use it by combining the +quote and the reply buttons. It just adds an extra step if you only want to quote one post. Not the end of the world, but slightly annoying and less intuitive.
     
  22. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    actually, it adds two steps.
    after the +Quote is tickled, and nothing shows on the screen....
    gotta click the "insert quotes", and then you gotta say "yup, I want to use these quotes"...

    there is one nice feature though.... I noticed that the quotes could be moved up/dn to make a reply in chronological order....

    I can see that being beneficial in helping to sort out the chaos that occurs when multiple gurus are trying to help out.....
    sometimes the 'story gets lost' in all of the replies.
     
  23. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I tend to just scroll to the bottom of the screen to enter a reply.

    In the process I pass other messages that were posted after the one I want comment on. I sometimes find that added information very useful. Sometimes someone else has already made the comment I was planning to make.

    There is also a flag (is it new) that is shown if someone has made a new post that would appear between the one I want to comment on and my new comment post.

    (I am using Internet Explorer on Windows 7.)

    ... Thom
     
  24. shalemail

    shalemail Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    3,351
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    3,351
    11,214
    1,453
    Male
    Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker
    Under your bed
    It's a pain in the pooper to be sure, but sometimes you just gotta roll with it. Is it really life altering? It's not like most of us are on here all day posting and quoting away. Been kinda slow really. So for the maybe 5 or 6 quotes you make here a day are those 2 extra clicks a killer? I think not.
    han-solo-who-me.jpg
     
  25. Phases

    Phases NO LONGER ADMIN
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,075
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,075
    20,640
    1,503
    Male
    IT
    Nashville, TN
    Yes this was be design. We don't need a reply button on each and every post on a thread, we're trying to reduce noise. We did put one top left of the thread, that should jump people to the quick reply area.

    Change stinks, but I think once everyone is used to it it'll be okay. For the record, a certain someone here hates quotes and I wouldn't be surprised if that was removed too. I don't quite agree with it, so we're testing it in the /news/ forum to see how it does. You will notice, there, there is no reply or quote button.
     
    El Presidente and Clementine_3 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...