1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support [REQ] Slide-out-keyboard to unlock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Qazz~, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. Qazz~

    Qazz~ Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I know that this has been posted before but most of the solutions given were apps that either totally removed all locks from the phone, were buggy, or were to remove the on-screen slide to unlock

    I personally find the on-screen slide to unlock useful.

    However, when i slide out my keyboard, i expect the phone to automatically unlock itself. Currently this does not happen and it's getting annoying. All i want to do is to slide out my keyboard and start texting or whatever but i have to slide up to unlock in the landscape position first....

    Any one has a solution to this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    663
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    663
    35
    88
    Phones, more phones and yet more phones!
    Earth
    I know what you mean by this as it was cumbersome at first to get used to but honestly you can slide open the keyboard and unlock it with your thumb(right handed) all in one motion ;) Just a thought other then packing your phone with software :D It takes an extra second to do that lol Sorry I couldn't help further but I've soon realized that sometimes you just deal with it like not have a great selection of cases where I'm from! :mad: So frustrating!
     
  3. Qazz~

    Qazz~ Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    It's just a simple thing, wonder why it was not implemented... almost all other slider phones unlock when you open it...
     
  4. Brendanmurphy

    Brendanmurphy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    403
    16
    38
    Tim Hortin's part time
    Richmond Hill, ON
    Its probably not implemented because if it opens in your pocket on comes the screen and it unlocks its self. Waste of battery so its better that its not implemented.
     
  5. Qazz~

    Qazz~ Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I know thats true but most other sliders do unlock upon opening, the odds of it opening in your pocket is virtually zero since it does not have a spring mechanism to push it open. i used to own other sliders and the convenience of hardware unlocking is really great.
    just a push and it unlocks, however, for the milestone you gotta push, slide the onscreen lock then it unlocks...

    still no answers?
    i don't want reasons as to why it is not implemented but solutions to rectify it...
     
  6. ronsalvador

    ronsalvador Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    try lockbot pro.
     
  7. dmo580

    dmo580 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    37
    4
    16
    Let's look at this from a feasibility standpoint.

    Forget all the reasons as to why this is bad and why developers might not have put this in and disadvantages. Those are opinionated answers.

    Look at this from a developer's standpoint. The slide event is the same as a screen poweron event. Essentially you're pressing the power button when you slide it open except you dictate that the phone will be used in landscape mode.

    So if you don't want a lock screen when you slide, you essentially need to remove the lock screen when you press the power button... remove the lock screen entirely. So either there's a lock or no lock. That's what you're asking for....
     
  8. leekslk

    leekslk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, I use mylock (search on market). set it to automatic and it would either unlock when you press the power button, or slide the screen.

    However, like what everyone is saying, you can't get the best of both worlds for now. So its either power/slide to unlock all together OR power + slide lockbar to unlock and slide screen + slide lock bar to unlock.

    = )
     
  9. fejker

    fejker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    I use Screen Mode Widget Lite. Works OK.
     

Share This Page

Loading...