1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Request for a more detailed explanation

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmson23, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. jmson23

    jmson23 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    0
    15
    Hi everyone,

    I'm new here and trying to read through everything because I know how annoying it is when newbies ask the same questions over and over and over.

    I've been reading the One Click All in One LG Spectrum Root thread and have downloaded what appears to be the latest version from the last page of that thread but I'm reading some posts that make me extremely hesitant to attempt to root my phone.

    Can someone please clarify the following:

    1) What should I do or not to concerning the boot looping? I've read many posts about this issue and the answer seems to be related to CWM or ROM but it's not clear.

    2) It seems like CWM and rooting are different things since apparently you can have CWM with or without root access. So my question is which part of the One Click package roots the phone? The superuser.apk?

    3) Should I still start with these directions that are in the OP?

    I've read every post in that thread and still feel utterly confused. I'm not lazy and am willing to read for hours about this but I don't know where to look. Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. cryoaura

    cryoaura Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012

    Mar 17, 2012
    56
    13
    18
    Male
    Reading through the whole thing should shed some light on everything, but it is messy when everything is all over in one topic. The sticky kind of works but I think ultimately there are a few things missing. So here's to the best of what I can give you... And don't take anything personal, I'm not talking down, just figure I'd give the whole newbie-friendly picture.

    Root: This is giving you super-user permissions on your entire file system of your phone. This is great for people who like to tweak their phone and the likes, allowing thorough access to your phone's OS. This is the advantage of rooting. The disadvantage is you can break a LOT if you don't know what you're doing. It's a Unix-based OS, so if you are unfamiliar, watch yourself.

    CWM: The reason this goes hand-in-hand with rooting is because it's a recovery system. You can backup your phone, and if you ever mess it up bad, so long as you didn't mess up CWM, you can restore yourself back. A+ to the guys that created this and also to those that ported it.

    Boot-loop: This is specific to our phone and CWM. This only occurs when you use the hardware button combo to get into CWM. I.E. - you hosed your OS and need to restore it. All it does is constantly bring you back into CWM everytime you start the phone, restart it, anything. There is a zip file to fix the boot loop, before you root or install CWM, just move this zip somewhere on your MicroSD. If you ever get in a loop, use the function in CWM to install from zip, and choose that file.

    This all being said, here's the answers to your questions in direct form...

    1. If using CWM, download the bootloop fix to your MicroSD, and you can get out of the bootloop anytime you have one.

    2. Correct, you don't need both, or either. They are 2 seperate things. Rooting gives you super-user access to your OS. CWM gives you a restore function for your phone. If you open the AIO bat, you will see options that allow you to do the individual options or both.

    3. Yes, those directions are pretty much it.

    Now here's my 2 cents... Do you have intentions of using any root-based applications? Do you want to modify your phone's OS or overclock or anything? If it's no to both of these questions, you have no reason to root really. You can install your own apps without being rooted. Otherwise, go for it and root it, the guys who dev'd these things are kings among kings, give them your thanks if you're happy with it all. I don't wanna mention the names of everyone involved because I KNOW I will forget someone, so just look it up! This has gotta be one of the easiest phones to root out there thanks to them.
     
  3. IMUcarmen

    IMUcarmen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,720
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    1,720
    350
    163
    Custom Furniture Building
    Williamsburg, VA
    you are fine! it's just having never done it before you have no confidence. This is a super easy method for rooting and installing CWM. Those directions still apply and are completely accurate. Just remember to extract the files. Once you start up the AIO file you will have a list of options. Just choose option 2 and sit back and wait. In about 2-3 minutes you will have a rooted phone with CWM touch installed!

    You don't have to worry about bootloops if you follow the directions. If you get a bootloop for whatever reason we can still fix you up so don't worry!

    One thing though. DO NOT USE ROM MANAGER FOR THE SPECTRUM. IT HAS NO USE WHATSOEVER FOR OUR PHONE. the only hard bricks that I know of with the spectrum are because people flashed roms and recoveries from rom manager. Everything you need is on this forum, and currently we only have 2 roms with are broken out and eclipse.

    I hope this helps! =]
     
  4. jmson23

    jmson23 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    0
    15
    Thank you both so much! I'm definitely going to be rooting my phone now.

    Last set of questions, hopefully ;) :

    1) I downloaded the .zip file and extracted it.

    In case of bootloop problems cryoaura said I should upload the recovery file somewhere to my MicroSD card. Does that mean I should just upload the whole original unextracted .zip file to my SD card?

    2) To install the drivers all I do is run the .exe file in the Drivers folder on my computer? Or do I have to run something on my phone?

    3) Assuming I've done the above two things properly to prepare for rooting I then just follow the install directions and the only file I should be running is Root&RecoveryAIO.bat?

    -----------
    @cryoaura - I want to root my phone mostly to improve performance, get rid of bloatware and unlock the true potential of it. I think the CPU and memory are being tied up with junk right now so really want to stop that. Once rooted I'll be reading lots on what I can do. Thank you for your reply!

    @IMUcarmen - Thank you for the confidence boost :) I'll be sure to avoid the ROM manager.
     
  5. IMUcarmen

    IMUcarmen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,720
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    1,720
    350
    163
    Custom Furniture Building
    Williamsburg, VA
    No problem!

    Answers to your questions in order.

    1. Just download the boot loop zip and place it anywhere you want on your sd card. Really you should make a folder on your sd card and put all the useful files in it. I always do that so I know I have all the necessary files for whatever phone I'm using.

    2. Yes. Just run the exe on your PC. No. You don't need to do anything on your phone.

    3. Yes.
     
  6. jmson23

    jmson23 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    0
    15
    I feel stupid for asking but where can I find the boot loop recovery ZIP file? I've read through that thread and can't find it. I'll try searching the LG forum.
     
  7. MrB206

    MrB206 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,879
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    I think it's linked in the BrokenOut thread. I've got it and can upload to my Dropbox if you need it.
     
  8. IMUcarmen

    IMUcarmen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,720
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    1,720
    350
    163
    Custom Furniture Building
    Williamsburg, VA
  9. jmson23

    jmson23 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    0
    15
    Ok I ran the .bat program but didn't do anything because I was told to select option 2, which is just CWM Recovery. Option 1 is root, Option 2 is CWM recovery, option 3 is root and recovery.

    Isn't option 3 what I want?
     
  10. scyther2333

    scyther2333 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    30
    6
    16
    The Lou, MO
    Yes...you want option 3 if you want to root and have CWM installed
     
  11. jmson23

    jmson23 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    30
    0
    15
    Ok I did it and everything went well!! I've frozen a bunch of the bloatware and I believe my phone is running much faster now.

    I guess the next step is looking into of the of ROMs. Thank you all for your help. This is awesome!!
     
  12. jeshbeast

    jeshbeast Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    May 18, 2012

    May 18, 2012
    80
    9
    16
    CO
    Nice job and good research.
     
  13. IMUcarmen

    IMUcarmen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,720
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    1,720
    350
    163
    Custom Furniture Building
    Williamsburg, VA
    MAN! i'm so sorry. I meant option 3 for sure. My bad man. I go off memory too much and need to start double checking things to make sure. again I'm very sorry for telling you wrong.
     
  14. cryoaura

    cryoaura Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012

    Mar 17, 2012
    56
    13
    18
    Male
    Haha good to know everything worked great. Broken-Out 3 is a great ROM on V6, and I think, don't quote me, the latest Eclipse ROM is on V6 too? I'm just using the stock V6 ROM, and froze practically everything and modded a few things myself on it. I was getting reboots with BO3, it seemed any time I was on an intensive website such as this one. This was of course using "Browser", and who knows if something else I use just didn't work. But I did like the Xperia theme he used in BO3 and the included weather widget. Go to town with stuff, make SURE you do an nandroid backup using CWM though, I would right now if I were you! :p
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...