1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root [REQUEST] How to build a fresh ROM for Micromax A75??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aayushdutta, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. aayushdutta

    aayushdutta Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012

    Apr 21, 2012
    639
    280
    113
    Male
    Student of Bachelor of Computer Applications
    New Delhi, IN
    Hello All,

    This thread is dedicated to all the Senior Members of this forum and the Developers.

    My question is that, I have tested all the ROM's currently compiled by Ninad for the Micromax A75. They are up to the mark and are very good, thanks to Ninad for doing us the favor. I just wanted to ask, Can't we just make a new fresh ROM for the device by modifying and editing current STOCK ROM of the device??

    In short, this question is asked to Ninad that how exactly he is compiling and building up those ROMS (Eg. UB-A75-1 & UB-A75-2)... Can he or any of you who knows HOW, post up a step-by-step tutorial thread of compiling a ROM for Micromax A75?

    Guys, if many of us know what exactly needs to be done to make a ROM maybe one of us trying could find out a solution to one of the problem faced by us today in compiling and installing ICS or MIUI into this cellphone.

    I have almost all the tools needed and can also download new ones if told to do so. It is a humble request to Ninad and other members to put up a tutorial reply or just explain the steps. I really want to help you all....

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,677
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011

    Oct 6, 2011
    1,677
    645
    213
    Sangli
    I think that method will be outdated shortly as soon as Recovery gets stable.
    So if you give me log of the recovery then I can check the problem and attempt to fix buggyness
    Check the All-Things-Root
    As soon as recovery will be stable you can create a flashable ROM with your modifications and flash it simply
     
  3. aayushdutta

    aayushdutta Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012

    Apr 21, 2012
    639
    280
    113
    Male
    Student of Bachelor of Computer Applications
    New Delhi, IN

    Well, yes... you are correct. But I actually need the method he (Ninad) used to make that UB-A75-1 ROM. And then, make it flashable onto the device.
    You know, the old fashioned way... :)
     
  4. saivignesh

    saivignesh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,052
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    1,052
    192
    143
    student
    shencottah
    @varun if I do something in that cwm the phone will hard brick? coz kumar said something happenedto his a75
    his mobile recovered?
     
  5. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,677
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011

    Oct 6, 2011
    1,677
    645
    213
    Sangli
    Hmmm....unsure
    But you have already tried that as per your statement here and you solved it too
    So it shouldn't create any problem
    Please reply on my thread
     
  6. saivignesh

    saivignesh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,052
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    1,052
    192
    143
    student
    shencottah
    yaa but I dont even wat I have done anyway I wll it now and report
     
  7. mastermind1024

    mastermind1024 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    994
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    994
    410
    113
    Doctor
    India
    I don't know how he did it but I will share what I know.I am also going to give it try but don't have time today.
    You need two tools which should be used under linux.
    1. unyaffs
    2. mkfs.yaffs.x86

    Add their path to system.(in bashrc)
    Use unyaffs tool to extraxt system.img

    Code (Text):
    1. unyaffs /home/user/workingfolder/system.img
    This will extract contents of system.img in workingfolder,keep in mind that system.img will also be there so u remove it before u apply mkfs.ysffs2 command.

    Now,do your changes n then apply mkfs command to make new system.img

    Code (Text):
    1. mkfs.yaffs2.x86 /home/user/workingfolder /home/user/workingfolder/system.img
    This will create new system.img which can be used to flash.

    One thing I suspect is,this will come up with wifi issue may..(happened to me with my A70 when followed similar process on stock backup)
    The method is not tested yet by me.I will test tomorrow.

    EDIT:
    It's tested now.It works though I had to compile unyaffs myself.pre-compiled one didn't work for me.
     
    aayushdutta likes this.
  8. aayushdutta

    aayushdutta Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012

    Apr 21, 2012
    639
    280
    113
    Male
    Student of Bachelor of Computer Applications
    New Delhi, IN
    @mastermind1024 Thank you sooo much for the quickest reply with the actual content which i want. I have extracted the files of the system.img with unyaffs and now have everything.... I tried to change the default launcher inside the ROM by deleting the Launcher2.APK and replacing it with an ICS Launcher from Syndicate Apps renamed to Launcher2.APK to just test whether my built ROM would flash or not.

    Then i compiled it back with mkfs.yaffs2.x86, yes i was successful in flashing it. But the launcher didn't launch up though.

    I just experienced a status bar with signals, dropdown and options. Below it, everything was BLACK! I know it's the launcher which didn't launch up.

    Do i need to change any other setting too with replacing the Launcher APK in system/app???
     
  9. ninadchaudhari

    ninadchaudhari What's up !
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,800
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    1,800
    526
    233
    Male
    F.Y B.E
    127.0.0.1
    Guys plz understand Android :eek:
    It would never be so ever (at-least in case of A75)
    and at-least as per my knowledge goes ....

    Do you remember, the root method we have now, was generated after tremendous trials and errors, ppl here tried many many images and finally one came on being !!
    every time the phone did not boot up ...
    ever curious how was i guaranteed this won't ever spoil ur device ???


    the thing is,
    this is the way It was done !
    Just that , It won't boot up for some obvious reasons !
    It took me so many trials to actually learn how this is done though it was to learn how it is done for android and not how it is done for a PC ! ....


    This point of time, I am on a full-fledged way of studies !
    Me and Varun are always in talk... grave ness of unto what limit i have restrained android development for it :)

    if you decide to make a ROM ,
    Do send me the update package,
    I will send back the images !! this is what we can do ....



    I have indeed scheduled the tutorial for the same as it is no where on the Net !, Will write it When ever i get time ! my exams get over on the 12 of May

    Till that point of time, Its a challenge :)

    P.S. : Also note that as my methods are no where found on the internet , It is fine as per the Rules of the Forums and all the licenses, I can sure keep my techniques closed source :)
    It is competly fine and I am not breaking ANY rules for the same :)
    Just to Note btw ...
     
    rameshprathap likes this.
  10. mastermind1024

    mastermind1024 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    994
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    994
    410
    113
    Doctor
    India
    I have no idea as of now.
    @ninad-
    I flashed ur UB-1 today,the thing is even I add any app in /system/app, it won't show up on reboot...what is the reason for that.never faced it on A70.
    N u can keep ur method closed source but just keep this in mind that if mmx n a75 user kumar had not share stock files then will u be able to develop rom?softwares/firmwares related to linux should be kept kept open source.knowledge increases with sharing.decision is urs,no offence.
     
  11. aayushdutta

    aayushdutta Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012

    Apr 21, 2012
    639
    280
    113
    Male
    Student of Bachelor of Computer Applications
    New Delhi, IN
    @ninadchaudhari
    :) Thanks for noticing this thread and replying Ninad. Quoting the above, I am also not breaking rules by forcing you to publicize your techniques and methods of doing a JOB.

    It's just that i require you to tell me what all tools you are using (which are ofcource open source) to make the images. If it is yaffs (both) and the trial and error, OKAY. If those are some other, i hope you wouldn't mind sharing them with us... :)

    All the very best for your exams though. Do consider this thread as an appeal for a tutorial, not a force or pressure.

    TC. :hello:
     
  12. aayushdutta

    aayushdutta Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012

    Apr 21, 2012
    639
    280
    113
    Male
    Student of Bachelor of Computer Applications
    New Delhi, IN
    This is the same reason why I started this thread asking Ninad to tell me what else would have to be changed. That is why I need a tutorial.

    I have been developing ROM's for the HTC, Samsung and Nexus since past 2 years (although I never released them), and have never faced up this kinda trouble with any of them. This is one ROM troubling me, but I want to custom it.

    Let's hope for the best and also wait for Ninad.
     
    androidn3wbi3 likes this.
  13. mastermind1024

    mastermind1024 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    994
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    994
    410
    113
    Doctor
    India
    Yes,its a request, noone is forcing u to share ur method.
     
  14. ninadchaudhari

    ninadchaudhari What's up !
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,800
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    1,800
    526
    233
    Male
    F.Y B.E
    127.0.0.1
    lol guys :D
    I never mentioned that i do not want to release it ...
    it is just that , I made it a point that even hiding is not a issue ;)

    I am PLANNING going to release the stuff after my Exams :)

    regarding force ,We all are friends :) Any forcing and pulling is bound to happen and always welcome ;)

    @everyone,
    as i said earlier, Do send me your ROMS ... in flash able zips .... i can sure convert and Give you back that in image format ...
     
  15. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,677
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011

    Oct 6, 2011
    1,677
    645
    213
    Sangli
    Still I cannot understand why this method is needed now
    Sure if the demand here is for Information sake then OK
    But recovery can do what SP Flash cannot do
    Well, anything u want, setting permissions, deleting a specific file anything........
    And yeah recovery is on the edge of getting bugfree :)
     
    Amarghy and aayushdutta like this.
  16. androidn3wbi3

    androidn3wbi3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    54
    9
    16
    @master mind & aayushdutta After creating system.img u cant flash it :p i tried more times and it doesn't boot up i got triangle android error image.
    i already asked ninad to provide tutorial about this he told after finishing this exams.:)

    and i extracted boot.img too :D
     
    aayushdutta likes this.
  17. aayushdutta

    aayushdutta Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012

    Apr 21, 2012
    639
    280
    113
    Male
    Student of Bachelor of Computer Applications
    New Delhi, IN
    @EVERYONE

    Thank you all guys for your valuable comments, and promises for help... :p
    I am here to just make a step forward and giving a bone-breaking answer to Micromax for not releasing the kernel source codes. We need to show them the power of US not the power of ME guys! :)

    We when working together would achieve a brand new custom modded ROM with excellent features to make this phone work up to it's limits (it's really getting underestimated right now)...

    @androidn3wbi3

    I appreciate that you told us what you experienced, but if I tell you mine. I actually somehow made a system.img which got successfully flashed into the phone with the other files such as boot.img and ramdisk which were of the UB-A75-1 setup. Just, the launcher which i replaced didn't load up though status bar did and thus resulted in a failed ROM. Me either extracted the boot.img from the device... :) :)

    Hoping for more replies from you guys and continuing this thread.
     
    androidn3wbi3 likes this.
  18. mastermind1024

    mastermind1024 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    994
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    994
    410
    113
    Doctor
    India
    Wooohhhoo...if it didn't work for u doesn't mean its not working...or may be I am lucky...lol..
    I just created system.img with changes in apps,added some apps,removed some,changes in build.prop etc...flashed nicely n booted nicely...
    All new apps are showed up n working fine....wifi,bluetooth all works fine...
    Only thing doesn't work properly is root.I need to work on that now.
    Thanks for your concern though.
    N if u can share how u created system.img then may be I can help u get it working too..
     
    androidn3wbi3 likes this.
  19. kumar abhishek

    kumar abhishek Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    572
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    572
    125
    93
    Chandigarh, India
    My phone is currently in service center. They tried reflashing several times but a75 didnt boot up and finally they came to conclusion that there is a hardware problem...
     
  20. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,677
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011

    Oct 6, 2011
    1,677
    645
    213
    Sangli
    That was coincidence then.
    According to log everything is going fine so that was really a H/W problem then :p
     
  21. ninadchaudhari

    ninadchaudhari What's up !
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,800
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    1,800
    526
    233
    Male
    F.Y B.E
    127.0.0.1
    Hey !!
    he is speaking of the touch problem ( i think ) :D
     
  22. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,677
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011

    Oct 6, 2011
    1,677
    645
    213
    Sangli
    lol....no.
    He never had touch problem.
    He hardbricked his A75 in recovery which might be coincidence of hardware failure.
     
  23. saivignesh

    saivignesh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,052
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    1,052
    192
    143
    student
    shencottah
    lol yesterday I tried evwrything in cwm my a75 never hardbricked
    that must be hardware problem
     
  24. ninadchaudhari

    ninadchaudhari What's up !
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,800
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    1,800
    526
    233
    Male
    F.Y B.E
    127.0.0.1
  25. androidn3wbi3

    androidn3wbi3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    54
    9
    16

    @master mind to get root download SU Copy the binaries to bin and xbin folder so u can get rooted already ninad said :) check old post closed root method So ya can get rooted :)

    If this was wrong please seniors correct it :)


    Now my mobile is in service center i got touch problems. i am :captain: waiting for my mobile :mad:

    @varun try this recovery.img Got from Indonesian Forum mt6575 devices :idea:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...