1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Required update broke some things!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by artydooty, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. artydooty

    artydooty Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have an LG Ally, and I would call myself a new-ish smart-phone user. The phone kept nagging me to install an update, and when I finally did, it broke 3 apps, deleted a shortcut, and gave me a new app that I don't want & that requires a subscription. I've never tampered with the phone, never downloaded a non-Marketplace app. Is this the way Android usually works? If so, can I avoid upgrading altogether?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. thedrizl

    thedrizl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    279
    40
    43
    Male
    jack-of-all-trades/master-of-none
    Warrenton, VA
    That is the way Verizon works. If you want more control over your phone, then read the threads about rooting. It's the only way to get rid of the bloatware.

    I now have two games that I paid for that are unplayable because of the update. I'm sure just about everyone has encountered this is some form.
     
  3. darkxsun

    darkxsun Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Have you tried factory reset, and reinstalling the apps?
     
  4. gutted

    gutted Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    103
    8
    56
    Boston
    Yes, it's the way it works.

    Is it the CityID app that you got that you don't want? And I too had to delete and reinstall a few apps (all free ones) that wouldn't work after my last update.
     
  5. MLBNut

    MLBNut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I have been searching for an answer to this problem since the update. I have talked to two verizon stores. One told me "it should be fixed in the next update"...??!!
    The only good thing is that I can uninstall and reinstall the apps and they work...but only until the next time I power my phone off. So I've been doing a lot of uninstalling and reinstalling.
     
  6. MLBNut

    MLBNut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I have been searching for an answer to this problem since the update. I have talked to two verizon stores. One told me "it should be fixed in the next update"...??!!
    The only good thing is that I can uninstall and reinstall the apps and they work...but only until the next time I power my phone off. So I've been doing a lot of uninstalling and reinstalling.
     
  7. MLBNut

    MLBNut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Sorry for the double post!
     
  8. blay

    blay Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    63
    5
    36
    Central Florida
    It's a pain, to be sure, but I've yet to figure out why ppl. need to power off their phones so often.
     
  9. daisy40

    daisy40 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    57
    4
    36
    Full Time Graduate Student & Full Time Youth Worke
    Minnesota
    In order to keep my battery going I power off randomly, it has to do with that annoying 50% bug. And ever since the last update, I have to reinstall certain apps every time I power down.
     
  10. Halainn317

    Halainn317 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    Teacher
    NY
    Has anyone had a problem with their e-mail? Mine used to update on it's own and alert me when I had new e-mails. Now I have to continually check manually for new messages. Any idea how to fix this?
     
  11. darkxsun

    darkxsun Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Try going to Applications -> Manage Applications... change the filter to "all"... and clear data and cache for Gmail and Gmail Storage. You'll have to login again, and set your preferences again, but it may work.
     
  12. Halainn317

    Halainn317 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    Teacher
    NY
    It was my Yahoo mail. I downloaded the Yahoo mail app and started using that instead but my e-mails only showed up for a couple of hours and then I had to start checking for them again. It's really annoying.
     
  13. darkxsun

    darkxsun Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Okay, same as what I said before but for the Email app (and in this case Yahoo too).
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...