1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support [Resolved] Cant download apps from market.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MikeCzipri, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. MikeCzipri

    MikeCzipri Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    29
    11
    18
    Tried to download an app from market on my phone...clicked "ok" and "install" blah blah blah...told me app would be downloaded shortly...the little download icon popped up for a split second in the top notifications bar and then went away.

    Apps are not downloading. Also tried going to the market on my computer and sending to phone, doesnt work either.

    Help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. wake69

    wake69 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,808
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1,808
    513
    213
    Security Engineer
    Georgia
    try clearing data on the market app on your phone

    menu - settings - manage apps - all apps - market - clear data. also did u take ota?
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  3. MikeCzipri

    MikeCzipri Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    29
    11
    18
    Restarted phone and they downloaded automatically. Not sure what happened.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  4. Tolfince

    Tolfince Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    19
    2
    16
    Mine is doing the same thing...cleared cache, data and restarted...still no luck.
    Any ideas?
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Mine has been doing this all evening. I think the Market is simply busy. In each case, I simply retried the installation, and it worked - some I had to do like, say 4 times.

    I've seen this before on the Evo.

    If you have your phone set up to back up to Google, apps will automatically be restored.

    In this case, I'd not bother with any fancy fixes, and just give it a day.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  6. Tolfince

    Tolfince Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    19
    2
    16
    Turned off WiFi....works now
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  7. Technologic 2

    Technologic 2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Having the same problem :(

    I was able to download and install via Amazon App Store, but not Android Market

    New day....It worked this morning. Must have been a market problem.
     
  8. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,624
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,624
    4,357
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    maybe regional?

    ive been downloading all day. i went to a sprint store to swap for a new 3D and have been in and out of the market with no issues.. even had my apps reinstall themselves without my intervention..
     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    This isn't a new thing - and it WILL happen again.

    It does seem to be sometimes regional, sometimes by carrier.

    When you say Install and the notification bar blinks it's going to do it, it means the _request_ to install has been acknowledged. Usually, requests are serviced immediately. But sometimes - because the Market parakeet is singing, or the Market is busy doing her hair and can't come out - it just queues the request because it's busy. Sometimes, it comes back and honors the request - but most of the time, it gets lost on Google's side.

    The acts of battery pulls and switching services is just consuming time and forcing a new request, that's why that all worked. I got the same results by simply re-clicking, right away.

    Bottom line tho - this will happen again. Someday. And not all of us will notice it.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...