1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support [Resolved] How to change the dock items?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by toriaoxford, Mar 29, 2013.

  1. toriaoxford

    toriaoxford Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Can someone PLEASE tell me how to change the dock items? I've tried dragging them out of the dock and onto the 'remove' icon at the top but it just replicates the icon on the home screen! I'm trying to replace the stock internet browser with Chrome and cannot do this - it's sooooooo frustrating! The phone's locked to Three so I don't know if that has anything to do with it! :mad:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Scootmien

    Scootmien Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    552
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    552
    362
    133
    Male
    South UK
    Do it from the app drawer rather than the homes creen, It works then.
     
  3. toriaoxford

    toriaoxford Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    YOU'RE A STAR! Thanks so much xxxx :D
     
  4. SLRdude

    SLRdude Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    49
    37
    23
    Male
    Sr. Manager
    DFW
    I just got my AT&T HTC One earlier today and I can't figure out how to replace the stock browser in the dock with a different one.

    I'm not an Android novice so I'm pretty surprised with my inability to figure this one out. :mad:

    If I try to move it off the dock, it just places it on the screen but without removing the icon from the dock. I usually use Nova prime but I sort of like the new Sense and I was hoping to keep that as my launcher.

    Does anybody know how to do it?

    Thanks!
     
  5. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,067
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Try dragging the app into the app drawer (either open the app drawer and drag it out to the other apps, or maybe also drag it to the app drawer icon on a homescreen)
     
    SLRdude likes this.
  6. kidcarter93

    kidcarter93 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012

    Jul 31, 2012
    75
    51
    53
    Male
    United Kingdom
    Drag the browser of your choice to the dock and add it to the current browser. It'll then create a dock folder. Open the folder and drag the stock browser to the app draw :)
     
    SLRdude likes this.
  7. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Open your app drawer then long press the browser, drag and drop it into the App drawer. Then long press the browser you want and drag and drop it onto the dock. You have to have the app drawer open to do this, otherwise it just replicates the icon on a home screen.
     
    ez2bgman, SLRdude and marctronixx like this.
  8. SLRdude

    SLRdude Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    49
    37
    23
    Male
    Sr. Manager
    DFW
    Thanks guys!

    I appreciate it.
     
  9. FanboyofLife

    FanboyofLife Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013

    Apr 20, 2013
    9
    5
    6
    Does anyone know if there is a way to change those 4 default icons at the bottom of the screen.. Sorry if there is a specific name for them.. they are the: phone, message, internet, and camera icons...
     
  10. cnsideu

    cnsideu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013

    Apr 16, 2013
    9
    6
    26
    Open app drawer. Then move the icon to the app drawer. Viola. App drawer must be open.
     
    FanboyofLife likes this.
  11. zeo2k

    zeo2k Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    3
    3
    6
    Can't edit the Launch Bar from the home screen or settings anymore.

    Open up your app drawer, and THEN you can drag apps in & out of your Launch Bar.
     
  12. broadwayblue

    broadwayblue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    96
    5
    16
    thanks for the tip.
     
  13. dazek

    dazek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    63
    0
    15
    How do I change the apps in the drawer - I would like my email there and chrome rather than the stock browser?
     
  14. rscarawa

    rscarawa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    119
    13
    38
    Dallas, NC

    I just did a drag and drop to alter the bottom 4 pps.

    THe only way to add an app to the launch bar is from the all apps screen. From there you can drag and drop on the launch bar.
     
  15. ReaperZ

    ReaperZ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 7, 2013

    May 7, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hi all,

    I purchased an HTC One yesterday and LOVE it ! However, it has the 5 default quicklaunches (phone SMS apps internet camera)

    However, i would like to change this, as i dont use the default messaging app.

    Can someone tell me how to change these ? i have tried dragging it off the task bar however it just replicates onto the homescreen and the quicklaunch bar, and i cant seem to find a way to exchange it with a different shortcut

    Thanks all :)!

    Thanks to whoever moved my post here, figured it out thanks to this thread!

    -ReaperZ
     
  16. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,230
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    1,230
    221
    143
    Kentucky
    On my EVO LTE there was a setting to hide the 4 shortcuts at the bottom from your lock screen only. I don't see that setting on this phone. No big deal but on my old phone I hid them from being on my lock screen.
     
  17. Menddles

    Menddles Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hey everyone. I got my HTC one a few days ago and I got a message saying something along the lines off "I new SIM card has been dectected, do you want to install SIM apps". I clicked asked later and customeised the home screen and the 'toolbar' at the bottom (i switched the stock messenger app for whatsapp).

    The messege came up again today and I clicked install. I now have an app called Best Deals and my home screen was reset, the wallpaper stayed the same but the apps disappeared. Now I can't swap the messenger app for whatsapp.

    Does anyone know how to fix this? I've attached a picture of the 'toolbar thing.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,067
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,067
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    You should be able to change them while you have the app drawer open.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...