1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support restart bug

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sjr14221, Apr 3, 2012.

  1. sjr14221

    sjr14221 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    7
    2
    26
    I recently bought the 7.7 lte on Verizon. The first day following overnight charge, I downloaded a bunch of apps and used the internet for several hours.

    The next day, I turned it on, tried to start internet, and it started shutting down and restarting over and over. I returned the tablet and got a new one. The Verizon folks had no clue why it was restarting. After about a week, the new tablet started the same behavior, but a manual restart using the power button would reset it back to normal.

    Any clue why this is happening? I really love the tablet otherwise; I chose not to return it to Verizon during my 14-day window. Verizon call center tech support, while very nice, had no knowledge of this issue (likely due to it's very recent release).
     

    Advertisement

  2. Queen6

    Queen6 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    71
    9
    16
    I would look carefully at what you have loaded on the tablet, as it`s likely that there is some conflict. Look at what is consuming the most RAM and CPU time, my own 7.7 has never restarted it`s self.

    The fact that you can rest the tablet with the power button, and two 7.7`s with the same symptoms also tends to re-enforce that it`s something on the SW side. I tend to be careful what I put on my Android devices as some apps can be prone to memory leaks, high CPU & battery usage, a little research goes a long way.
     
    sjr14221 likes this.
  3. gaugerer

    gaugerer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    65
    8
    16
    I would try letting the battery go flat which is a real power down and see if that fixes it. I would also try a factory reset.
     

Share This Page

Loading...