1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Restart / Soft boot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by garettpony, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. garettpony

    garettpony Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Anyone know the easy key configuration to simply restart my new Sprint EVO phone. Or soft boot - It was useful with my G1 to hold the call menu & end buttons at the same time for the phone to restart if i needed it to after an app installation or uninstall or if my old phone was lagging a bit and i wanted to make sure all unnecessary process' were killed. But with the new EVO using a single power / screen button on the top of the device i have not been able to figure out how to restart. I don't like going through the shut down process then having to turn the phone back on so i'm hoping someone knows a restart option.
     

    Advertisement

  2. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Well if you root you can do this through connectbot

    Type this in

    Su

    Reboot

    =)

    Tapatalk. Samsung Moment. Yep.
     
  3. bck9900

    bck9900 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    172
    13
    38
    Austin, Tx
    Try power and volume
     
  4. garettpony

    garettpony Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    power and volume don't work -
    what is connectbot? i have a partially rooted EVO (super user access granted) no system file customization allowed yet.
     
  5. garettpony

    garettpony Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    i am looking up connectbot - but just to be specific... type in "SU" or Reboot - type in where? Im not familiar with this app, little help :)
     
  6. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Maybe you'll have better luck with better terminal emulator. Its easier to use.

    First you type in "su"

    The $ sign should change to # sign to show your a superuser.

    Then simply type in "reboot".



    Tapatalk. Samsung Moment. Yep.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...