1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Restore Original IP?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Restore Original IP, Aug 4, 2016.

  1. Restore Original IP

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Being curious (and also very dumb), i decided to change my IP via proxy. When i set it up in the Wi Fi settings, when i clicked the "save" button, nothing else showed up, it didnt show anything about the proxy server anywhere, but my IP defiantely changed. Now I'm regretting it, is there any way to restore my orignal IP address? (I forgot to write it down somewhere)
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,623
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,623
    13,629
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    So presumably you're on a fixed IP address network setup, rather than using DHCP, which assigns you an IP address automatically? And you need the original that's assigned so you can connect?

    If so, you'll likely have to get it from your network administrator. Is this an academic or corporate network or something?
     
    Bg260 likes this.
  3. DaShadowz

    DaShadowz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016

    Aug 5, 2016
    2
    1
    16
    Male
    Im using my personal Galaxy S6 Edge, and it was a DHCP, as I was given the IP automatically
     
    mikedt likes this.
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,623
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,623
    13,629
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    You need your original IP address back, rather than whatever it gets assigned by DHCP? Have a static IP for the device?

    Is there any particular reason you need this, like are you running a server on your phone that others need to access from a known IP address?

    I think you'll have to speak to your service provider(ISP), see if they can do anything. Fixed broadband ISPs can often provide a static IP address that doesn't change, but there's usually an extra fee for it though.
     
    #4 mikedt, Aug 5, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2016
  5. DaShadowz

    DaShadowz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016

    Aug 5, 2016
    2
    1
    16
    Male
    I'm not running a server or anything. I'll call my ISP to see what can be done, thanks for your help
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...