1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Restoring Backups (switching between two ROMs)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Scottd9000, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. Scottd9000

    Scottd9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    71
    3
    16
    Purchased a NC Saturday. Had it rooted and flashed to Cyanogen7 in probably 20 mins. Love it so far. My question is what is the best way to manage backups on the NC. I made a back up right away after I got Cyanogen set up how I like it. But I also want a stock image (rooted) for my GF to use. On my Droids it's as easy as flashing a new ROM and backing it up. I tried this with a stock rooted ROM and the NC wouldn't boot... So I did the CWR image and removed it blah blah to finally get back to Cyanogen image. Am I doing something wrong or maybe just a bad image on the stock ROM? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. stinky

    stinky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    346
    44
    63
    SoCal
    Maybe a bad image. When you make an image in CWM it should restore fine. Try wiping data/cache/dalvik before you restore. You might also have to format /boot, /system, /data.
     
  3. Scottd9000

    Scottd9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    71
    3
    16
    After a hour of reading last night I think I figured it out. Cyanogen7 installs completely different compared to stock and many of the ROMs. I think my best bet is to flash back to stock and re-root, then build a Cyanogen7 SD card to boot to when I plug it in. I found several dual boot options but none of them work with Cyanogen7.
     
  4. Snazzy

    Snazzy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    460
    37
    43
    You probably don't have to redo all that. This is what I would suggest to try first.

    1. Download new or "2nd" ROM and note where on SD card you saved it(downloads).

    Do all of this within the CWM Recovery, its faster.
    1. Boot into CWM recovery
    2. Backup current ROM to SD
    3. Wipe data/factory reset
    4. Wipe cache partition
    5. Install ZIP from SDCARD - browse to the "2nd" ROM you downloaded
    6. reboot and enjoy new "2nd" ROM!

    When you want to go back to the "1st" ROM its basically the same.

    1. Boot into CWM recovery
    2. Backup current ROM to SD
    3. Wipe data/factory reset
    4. Wipe cache partition
    5. Backup and Restore - Restore your previous image
    6. reboot and enjoy original "1st" ROM!
     
  5. Scottd9000

    Scottd9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    71
    3
    16
    Are you sure that will work with CM7 being one of the ROMS? I did almost exactly what your instructions say on Sunday and I came up with a unbootable NC. I guess it won't hurt to try it with another "2nd" ROM see if it changes anything. I found just a 1.1 rooted ROM and used that as my 2nd ROM (I just want the standard Nook App for my GF when she borrows the NC).
     
  6. Snazzy

    Snazzy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    460
    37
    43
    Are you sure you did factory data reset and cache partition wipe between each? This should erase any trace of the previous ROMs file system allowing to install another.
     
  7. stinky

    stinky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    346
    44
    63
    SoCal
    Going to and from CM7, you most likely need to wipe /boot /system /data. Try it and see if that helps.
     
  8. Scottd9000

    Scottd9000 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    71
    3
    16
    Ok, it's possible that was my problem. The instructions for the stock rom +root had you not delete the data. I am really enjoying CM7 (minus the won't sleep issue and random wifi shut off issue) but plan to set up a stock backup soon.
     

Share This Page

Loading...