1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Restoring My Evo V Back to the Way It was When I Bought It

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 1saint10, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. 1saint10

    1saint10 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    139
    4
    36
    Male
    So I've decided to get rid of my Evo V and in order to sell it i need to restore it to the condition it was when i bought it (s-on , bootloader locked , etc ) Can anyone direct me to a guide to do this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. EmuZombie

    EmuZombie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    6
    3
    6
    Top of the forum, the FAQ sticky contains this answer:

     
    1saint10 and OverByter like this.
  3. 1saint10

    1saint10 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    139
    4
    36
    Male
    One problem when i try to lock the bootloader it says command error , can I just skip this step and run the ruu?
     
  4. gwz85

    gwz85 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    Male
    No, if you do that it will not work the RUU will get stuck in the process.
     
  5. payterx

    payterx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    28
    6
    16
    If you made a backup of your system before doing anything to it besides changing the recovery, just restore that backup and you'll have an unrooted stock phone. Then change the recovery back to the HTC recovery.
     
  6. 1saint10

    1saint10 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    139
    4
    36
    Male
    I did but wont the phone still be bootloader unlocked and s-off ?
     
  7. EmuZombie

    EmuZombie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    6
    3
    6
    This is probably because you are s-off.

    Edit: IMPORTANT STEP:
    Make sure you have the stock 1.57 hboot installed before running this command or it will brick your phone. Use VolumeDown+Power to get into the bootloader and confirm the version shows as 1.57.0000. Thanks ramjet73 for pointing out. I wasn't aware of this. Added to this post for those who stumble on this post and do not check replies.

    To go back to s-on, run the command:
    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot oem writesecureflag 3
    Then continue on with the guide and try again to run the command to lock the bootloader.
     
  8. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Make sure you have the stock 1.57 hboot installed before running that command or it will brick your phone. Use VolumeDown+Power to get into the bootloader and confirm the version shows as 1.57.0000.

    ramjet73
     
    EmuZombie likes this.
  9. nsciucco

    nsciucco Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,374
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    1,374
    290
    163
    Male
    SALES
    MASSACHUSETTS
    the phone is probably worth more rooted with s-off
     
  10. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    This is what I was thinking. Try marketing it as is before you go changing it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...