1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Returning my A500 to stock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pagdodd, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. pagdodd

    pagdodd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    221
    23
    48
    Male
    Admin Manager
    Shropshire, UK
    I downgraded my unrooted A500 on 3.2 to the "unstable" 3.0.1

    I then rooted it and installed CWM.

    Then I made a back up on CWM before flashing Thor 14.2

    It worked really well except a couple of bugs (No audio on HDMI and reduced battery life)

    I know beggars can't be choosers but I would prefer if EVERYTHING worked.

    So....I restored my A500 from the backup of 3.0.1 via CWM with a hope to just returning it back to factory settings and returning to an unrooted 3.2

    However, when it tries to do the system update it fails.

    I have tried the factory reset and then tried again to update via system update but still fails (I get the blue honeycomb bee with exclamation mark)

    Can anyone point me in the direction of a stock 3.2 rom that I can flash via CWM?

    or even better, one that means I wont lose root???
     

    Advertisement

    lamdai likes this.
  2. splatoid

    splatoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    630
    83
    78
    Repair Technician for Grocery stores Auto meat wra
    Washington State
  3. pagdodd

    pagdodd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    221
    23
    48
    Male
    Admin Manager
    Shropshire, UK
  4. splatoid

    splatoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    630
    83
    78
    Repair Technician for Grocery stores Auto meat wra
    Washington State
    Im not sure I asked on XDA ill let you know when I get a reply.
     
    pagdodd likes this.
  5. pagdodd

    pagdodd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    221
    23
    48
    Male
    Admin Manager
    Shropshire, UK
  6. splatoid

    splatoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    630
    83
    78
    Repair Technician for Grocery stores Auto meat wra
    Washington State
    Cool
    I never got a reply on the other link but it seems like it all worked out.
     
  7. pagdodd

    pagdodd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    221
    23
    48
    Male
    Admin Manager
    Shropshire, UK
    yes, sorry I didn't thank you for your previous efforts.
     
  8. weddle

    weddle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    368
    34
    63
    Male
    independent subcontractor
    PA

    So would the ota update pushs work on that ROM? Because I'd be willing to lose root to update to an official ICS build. And yes I know that the modded roms will be better than anything that is pushed stock (in case anyone decides to flame me about that lol)
     
  9. pagdodd

    pagdodd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    221
    23
    48
    Male
    Admin Manager
    Shropshire, UK
    I believe/hope so.

    To be honest I don't know.

    System update seems to work, although it just says the device is up to date.

    Other roms I have tried gave an error on this, even a previous "stock" rom I tried.
     
  10. weddle

    weddle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    368
    34
    63
    Male
    independent subcontractor
    PA
    Coolcool. And I've gotten the error messages on all the roms I've tried too, so hopefully that's a good sign.
    I may have to flash that ROM once we get more word on the ota ICS update :)
     
  11. splatoid

    splatoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    630
    83
    78
    Repair Technician for Grocery stores Auto meat wra
    Washington State
    Thats cool man no problem. Just glad it worked out for ya!
     
  12. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    The rooting procedure I used, which was developed by TimmyDean on XDA, has a "back door" tool that, at least under 3.2, is designed to accept an OTA update while it is toggled on, then it can be toggled back off again. But of course the powers that be may break the current exploit used for rooting in that procedure if/when they push ICS. So I don't know what would happen at that point.
     
    weddle likes this.
  13. lamdai

    lamdai Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012

    Jan 14, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, a newbie here. I like to root my A500 like what you did. Is it possible to show me (or to advise me where I can get step by step process)

     
  14. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,753
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    1,753
    210
    153
    Ohio - USA
    Use the procedure in post #8 above. It doesn't require you to downgrade before you root. When you are finished you'll have rooted 3.2, if that is where you started from. Everything will work. If you are not on 3.2.x then get there first by using OTA updates from Acer.
     

Share This Page

Loading...