1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Returning my Atrix - cant stand Att HSPA+ Speeds!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by danielkogan, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. danielkogan

    danielkogan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    51
    1
    16
    I love the phone, even like motoblur! But I just went to a tmobile store and did a speed test and it blew my Atrix away. Five times the speed! Either im switching to verizon or tmo bile. I can't wait for a promised network, need it to work now. I spend my day traveling and browsing the web is vital. Sad realization because I love the phone just can't stand slow att speeds!
     

    Advertisement

  2. tical2k

    tical2k Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    85
    8
    16
    yup... att network is teh suck
     
  3. mgymnop

    mgymnop Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    62
    3
    16
    Scientist
    San Diego
    I switched from t-mobile to AT&T because in my area in San Diego (where I live and work) that should be supposed to be 4G I get 0.8 mbps down. At least with AT&T and 3G I get 3mbps down and if they finished the backhaul of 4G it will be better. But AT&T and T-mobile have the same problems: what works for one person in one area doesn't necessarily work for another person in a different area. In the t-mobile store 5 miles away I got download speeds of 5mbps but I don't live there so for me it doesn't matter.
     
  4. =KLRS=ZERO

    =KLRS=ZERO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    319
    34
    43
    im getting 3000kbps down constantly...
     
  5. AustinTech

    AustinTech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #201
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    598
    97
    108
    Alpharetta, GA (ATL)
    The HSPA+ network isnt really running. AT&T is still completing the backhual.

    But yeah, it blows to have to wait for them to get the network running. But once it's going, I bet it will be pretty darn good.

    I'm not very patient either!
     
  6. roush611

    roush611 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    94
    20
    18

    Cool! Have fun!! More bandwidth for me :)
     
    Karl_Tx likes this.
  7. foruman

    foruman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    Yeah, I'm disappointed by the speed as well where I live. I am usually only getting 600 down and 150 up. At work, it switches down to edge (100 up / 100 down).
     
  8. John I

    John I Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #599
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    170
    31
    43
    Everyone should have known that the 4G label by AT&T is bogus - even after they throw the switch. I'm averaging about 2500 down and 400 up now. Sure I'd like to have faster, but I'm not really sure what I'd really use it for.

    WTF are you doing that this one minor issue is actually a deal breaker? Tethering is the only thing I can think of. Browsing on a mobile just doesn't need much more bandwidth than what we have. All the surfing I do seems much faster than my old Captivate. Shrug.
     
  9. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    T-Mobile's total network is about 25% the size of AT&T. Hope you don't travel too often.
     
  10. heritagehog

    heritagehog Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Im getting 3m meg and burst to 4 meg in Tulsa
     
  11. kenio8185

    kenio8185 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010

    Oct 15, 2010
    86
    5
    16
    AT&T capped the speed of the Atrix.

    IIRC, someone on the XDA forum mentioned how to change your APN settings so that you benefit from the full speed of HSPA+ on AT&T.
     
  12. zizo79

    zizo79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    251
    29
    43
    PA
  13. DukeL

    DukeL Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    156
    7
    36
    Yes it is obvious the speed has been capped.

    If you could provide a link to the fix it would be much appreciated!
     
  14. kuj

    kuj Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    19
    4
    16
    Silicon Valley
    redrider67 and allambition like this.
  15. allambition

    allambition Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Sometimes I think these maps they make aren't really representative of the coverage they actually provide. There is places in Wisconsin where AT&T doesn't work almost at all but if you look at the map there it is - coverage. In the race to 4g they forgot to use the best technology available and are just giving people enough to keep them coming back. Its sad really.
     
  16. sw33ndawg

    sw33ndawg Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    119
    14
    38
    4g isnt even active yet outside of major cities... this goes for both Verizon and AT&T.. be patient little one.
     
  17. Left Coast DJ

    Left Coast DJ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    339
    50
    73
    Southern California
    Are you being billed for 4G right now (tiered 2GB/4GB, etc,) or do you have the unlimited 3G now until HSPA+ backhaul is turned on?
     
  18. kgeissler

    kgeissler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    200
    32
    43
    Rowlett, TX
    I live in Dallas, one of the "4g" cities and my data speeds still suck. :(
     
  19. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Your plan prices aren't going to change just because they 'turn on HSPA+ backhaul'. If you have an Unlimited plan now, you will still have an Unlimited plan. If you have a tiered plan now, it's the same one you will have when 4G goes 'live'.
     

Share This Page

Loading...