1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Reverting back to stock kernel?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kenneth196, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    I've rooted my phone, installed various apps and flashed a custom kernel - Sense 2.6.32.21 OC/UV 1.51GHZ (CFS-Smartass-TUN) ([Kernel] [GPL] Sense 2.6.32.21 OC/UV 1.51GHZ (CFS-Smartass-TUN) - xda-developers).

    Everything was working fine, but all of a sudden I've started to experience different problems. JuiceDefender wasn't working as it should, and when I uninstalled & reinstalled it, it gave me a message on the logs stating "ROM is not compatible with AOSP helper (3G contl is unavailable) - get CyanogenMod".. eveb though I did nothing to the ROM but just the kernel. Also, sometimes I have been getting text messages waaayyyy late. I'm not sure what the problem is but instead of calling Sprint, I'm gonna try to go back to the stock kernel, uninstall & reinstall juice defender and see what type of message I get, and see if I have any issues with text messages. Gonna keep phone rooted however! So does anyone know how I can go back to stock kernel?
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Did you make a nandroid backup prior to installing the new kernel?
     
  3. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    Yes. But actually I found another kernel, I forgot exactly what it was called but said something about "UV, ext. 4, battery saver". I downloaded that one and flashed it but I still have the 1.51 ghz one. So instead of going back to my stock kernel, I want to switch. Is there a certain method of doing so? But yes I do have a nandroid backup.
     
  4. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    You should in theory be able to make a nandroid, and just flash the new kernel. That is generally how it works.
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  5. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    If I backup my nandroid, is it similar to doing a factory reset, or would it basically just put me back at having a factory kernel? I have not flashed a ROM fyi, using the stock one because I am satisified with it.
     
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    I think what you are asking is if you do a nandroid restore... When you restore to the nandroid backup you made before you flashed the kernel, what you will have is the exact setup that you had when you made the nandroid backup. Same apps, same screens same text messages, same wallpaper, same kernel. But it does not do a factory reset. It just brings you back to a "known" stable point.
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  7. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    Yes exactly! Thanks a lot. I do that in the clockwork recovery?
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Go into rom manager, and there is an option there to do what you need called manage and restore backups.
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  9. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    I went there, but it just stayed at a black screen with rthe white circle thing at the bottom, like it was loading something but after 5 mins nothing still happened. I was able to go back just fine. Anything else I can do?
     
  10. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Did you make a backup with rom manager? I don'tunderstand why it would not load the images if you have them on the sd...
     
  11. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    I followed the rooting guide for dummies & did the part where you make a backup of the nandroid, wimax, etc. I tried uninstalling & reinstalling also. I'll go to my Astro app and look in my sdcard just to be sure. What folder name would it be under?
     
  12. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    On the sd, under clockwork mod, there will be a backup folder. It would be in there.
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  13. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    I think I found it... clockworkmod - download - mirrorbrain.cyanogenmod.com - cm - recoveries - "recovery-clockwork-3.0.1.4-speedy.img". Its a 3.29 MB file. Is that it?
     
  14. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    No, I would say that that is the actual recovery image, not the backup image. I know that is confusing, but they are not the same. The recovery image is what you flashed to be able to boot into recovery. It is the actual recovery "console" that you see when you boot to recovery. NOT the backup you made.

    Follow the path I described above, and that is where you will see the Nandroid backup (if you have one.)
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  15. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    Ohhhh ok then I don't have a nandroid backup (which explains the black screen under Manage and Restore backups).. this sucks. So there's no way to go back to my stock kernel or switch kernels? If I can go back to stock, make a nondroid backup (which I have to learn how to do since I don't have one), then flash to a different kernel instead of this one then that would be great.
     
  16. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    You CAN switch kernels. You need to flash a different one. But I highly suggest making a nandroid of what you have right now. Even if it is a little jacked up, at least it is working. You may get to a point somewhere down the road where you flash something, and can't get your phone to boot, so at least you will have this.

    I really need to emphasize understanding what you are doing with this stuff. Just flashing away will get you nowhere. You need to follow the proper order of operations or you will have an expensive paperweight.
     
  17. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    Everything is working correctly as we speak so I'll do like you said and make a nandroid backup. When I rooted, I followed the steps correctly and really thought I made one but guess not, or it got deleted. Either way I'm going to clockwork recovery and making one right now.

    Well I flashed a different kernel, but I went to setCPU to look at my phone's info and it still displays the kernel I flashed before the new one. So I just thought I had to go back to stock, then flash the new one.
     
  18. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    No, you shouldn't have to. Sometimes a data/dalvik wipe will help everything in the flashing process (and sometimes it is required), but usually with kernels it isn't "necessary".

    But you got it right, make a backup, and then you will be good to go because you will have a stable place to go back to if something should go awry.
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  19. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  20. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    75
    4
    16
    Will do. Successfully made a nandroid backup (& checked to make sure). Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...