1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General *Rezound ICS OTA is live Thread*

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ISASoilder, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. acoastal

    acoastal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    48
    5
    16
    NC
    This right here.^

    The leak may be B.S., but I'll hold off doing anything until after midnight tonight. According to the leak, you couldn't even get the OTA update until midnight tonight (unless you were one of the few that they initially pushed it to).

    However, since we haven't seen anyone get the OTA (I mean there's enough people in these forums and others that I visit, that someone had to get it), I'm guessing that leak was bull and it's not coming out anytime soon. So as TrooperThorn said, I will re-root my phone, then go after S-OFF, and then install the leak.

    What a joke this whole thing has been.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ckar

    ckar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    111
    7
    36
    San Diego
    If I load the leak, will my phone pull the official OTA if/when it is ever pushed??
     
  3. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    Yes, foxfi works perfect on the razr with ics. Wifi tethered my daughters phone and a laptop to it just last week. Does not however work on rezound with ics leak installed

    There is always a chance the leak will somehow not allow an ota but ime, if the ota is newer it will download just fine.
     
  4. left4dead

    left4dead Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    62
    6
    16
    I'd like to know this as well. Please confirm.
     
  5. Drivembig

    Drivembig Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012

    Feb 14, 2012
    41
    6
    36

    You don't have to go after S-OFF to install the leaked version of ICS. I woke up this morning and still no update so I went ahead and installed the leak. Phone seems so crisp and flawless. Go ahead and enjoy ICS now and if the OTA ever comes, if it is version higher than 4.0.3 like has been reported, you will still get the update.
     
  6. acoastal

    acoastal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    48
    5
    16
    NC
    No. If you installed the leak, your phone will not update to the official OTA. The only way to get the OTA update is to have S-OFF.

    Here was my similar question, and here is the answer from scotty85:

    If I install the leak, will I still be able to receive the official OTA update? I remember reading that the leak would have the same version numbers as the official update, so you phone would be stuck with the leak (unless you got S-OFF). Is that still the case?

    scotty85:
    yes. that is very much still the case. if the leak happens to be the OTA,then youll have it. if it doesnt,then you wont recieve the OTA,being on a leak. updater script looks for official release numbers. in order to get the official version,youll have to run another ruu.
     
  7. ludist210

    ludist210 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    396
    41
    43
    Male
    Grad School Student
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Meh, I'm fine until the official OTA launches. Really I just want CM9, but it's not on the Rezound yet...
     
  8. ckar

    ckar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    111
    7
    36
    San Diego
    Ok...here we go. I downloaded the RUU_Vigor_3.14.605.10_PH98IMG.zip to the desktop on my computer. Now I will need to:
    After downloading the file, rename it to "PH98IMG.zip" (no quotes)
    Place the renamed file onto the root of the SD Card
    Power down your device
    Reboot into the bootloader by holding VOL DOWN + Power
    The flashing process should begin automatically

    Is this right??

    Thanks
     
  9. Aveamantium

    Aveamantium Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    36
    5
    16
    Sounds about right...

    It will nuke everything so make sure you have all your personal data backed up.
     
  10. jws3

    jws3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    47
    6
    16
    Called VZW today for update. Nice, but not well informed rep looks on the computer & says the improved update coming "in the next few months" per a 7/31/12 computer update.

    More jerking around.....
     
  11. ludist210

    ludist210 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    396
    41
    43
    Male
    Grad School Student
    Birmingham, Alabama
    If that's true, the update better be to 4.1 instead of Ice Cream Sandwich.
     
  12. ptco911

    ptco911 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    115
    12
    58
    Public Safety/911
    Manhattan, KS
    I'm done with Verizon.
     
  13. dzuchowski

    dzuchowski Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    63
    3
    16
    I know it was pointless but I called Verizon and they blame HTC for not releasing it. I pointed out the change log on HTC website, leak build, leaked screen shot, and all... They said they don't have any info and that HTC is the one to push the update and that Verizon must test then either approve or send back to htc for more testing. I said the leaked screen shot said it was ready to go....
     
  14. CrazyCal

    CrazyCal Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    76
    13
    18
    That was actually my point. VZW doesn't want give HTC the time of day as a result. Moto is now the "golden boy" as you put it..... and I hate Moto. This sucks.
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  15. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Called Verizon to let them know Mobile Hotspot is still not working on Android 2.3 and that the fourth replacement Rezound they sent me is still overheating. 110F after just 10 mins of browsing and easily 120F while streaming.

    They are sending me a Galaxy Nexus. Should be here tomorrow. So long Rezound forum! I've stuck it out as long as I could! But even if we get ICS in the next few days, who knows if and when the Rezound will ever get Jelly Bean. It'll take a lot of convincing to get me back into an hTC again.

    My Motorola Xoom is older than the Rezound and it already has Jelly Bean!
     
  16. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    23,687
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,687
    11,461
    2,013
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Yea, it is running stock android though. plus google always considered it a defacto dev tab....

    And lets all try not to blame HTC too much. Hell the Evo 3D is already getting ICS after all.,

    This is all on VZW
     
    TheMortallyWounded likes this.
  17. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    1,042
    331
    173
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    Not perfect, but still waiting on the ICS source from HTC/Verizon to finish a couple things

    [ROM] [8/1/12] CM9 Kangs (Beta) [4.0.4] [CDMA]
     
  18. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,042
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    1,042
    331
    173
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    Also note a couple people in this thread both claim to have called VZW today and been told the update will be available today... take it with a grain of salt.
     
  19. TheMortallyWounded

    TheMortallyWounded Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    276
    51
    73
    PTS Manufacturing Technologist, Ithaco Space Syste
    Spencer, New York
  20. TheMortallyWounded

    TheMortallyWounded Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    276
    51
    73
    PTS Manufacturing Technologist, Ithaco Space Syste
    Spencer, New York
    Yeah, and with Sense 4.0 unless someone can tell me EXACTLY WHY it isn't compatible.
     
  21. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    23,687
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,687
    11,461
    2,013
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    I know the odds of this thread getting merged into the ICS Speculation thread ;)
     
  22. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    23,687
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,687
    11,461
    2,013
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    ^This

    I been meaning to ask one of our Mods to stop by and see if he can shed some light on the subject.

    All I have heard is that the fact that the CPU wasn't a S4 is the reason. But that is the only the reason, it does nothing for making me understand why a S3 CPU can't run newest sense
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  23. TheMortallyWounded

    TheMortallyWounded Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    276
    51
    73
    PTS Manufacturing Technologist, Ithaco Space Syste
    Spencer, New York
    The only thing I can think of is OpenGL compatibility. Sense 4.0 relies heavily on it for 3D transitions and weird animations. I've said it before, but I wish Sense was a modular overlay, coming completely Vanilla and customizable via downloadable features. I'd skip the OpenGL elements. But I love the keyboard, the camera, the widgets, and the overall feel. Not crazy about the animations, vertically-paginated app drawer, the spinning homescreens, and the lack of scrolling wallpaper.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  24. Aveamantium

    Aveamantium Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    36
    5
    16
    It can run Sense 4 seeing as how you can install Nils Business Sense 4 or Newts One XxX on an unlocked Rezound. Both running Sense 4 from my understanding...

    Anything else is VZW making a marketing ploy to get you to a newer device.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  25. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Hi! :)

    So, I'm using an HTC Evo 3D (aka 3vo, s-off, stock rooted rom, through wifi only now) and an HTC Evo 4G LTE (aka LTEvo, s-off, this is the Sprint HTC One X variant) as my regular phone now.

    For those unfamiliar - take a 3vo, change qHD 3D panel to 720p HD panel and change Sprint radios to Verizon radios and you have the Rezound, so I think the story here may be quite valuable or useful to some here. ;)

    Whatever technical or marketing issues may exist for Sense 4 being missing, I want to chime in that you wouldn't want it the way HTC delivers it. As I am practically the HTC Poster Boy for those that don't know me, that's saying a lot, I promise.

    As delivered, HTC has - on all One models - totally, completely and absolutely borked memory management. Out of the box, my 3vo running Sense 3/Gingerbread runs circles around the stock One X Sense4/ICS in multitasking - the observation is held universally by all upgrading along the 3vo to LTEvo path.

    Furthermore, HTC is aware of it and despite user complaints, insists that the sky is blue and has no issues -

    HTC Addresses Multitasking Concerns For One X and S – Calls It “Sense” Optimized

    Note the article says that Sense 4 isn't as lean and lightweight as they claim. That's 100% true. I develop industrial Linux apps so I very well know my way around that part of Android and I've got some people believing that I know other bits about Android, so trust me, it's not lightweight at all. I did very close monitoring of system transactions and memory-use profiling, and if you do the same, you'll agree, the Sense 4 lightweight story is simply marketing. And I don't have a problem with that, I don't much care for the Sense-bashing blogosphere with writers who've tried Sense 1 on an old cramped phone and continue to lecture the rest of us about synthetic benchmarks. Sense rocks.

    So - if you want to enjoy Sense 4, you need to try it rooted where some dev (or yourself) goes to the trouble get rational memory management restored from their new and improved way.

    Had HTC released Sense 4 for the 3vo and Rezound, you'd be crying murder for your missing multitasking power - and had they gotten it right for the older models, the One owners would be crying murder for being left out of the right way - and HTC is standing firm on not changing it.

    So - does Sense 4 really require a newer processor and the dev community is wrong? I didn't bother to check on my 3vo, I'll let you be the judge.

    Is the Sense 3.6 thing a ruse to get you to update to a newer phone? I honestly have no opinion one way or the other.

    But are you lucky to not get it in its present form and are you dodging a bullet?

    In my opinion, that's a huge yes.

    If all you want is the new Sense 4 clock, get Droid27's 3D Flip Clock and Weather and go to town on the custom skins. It includes font choice and you can get the Sense 4 look in a heartbeat, no root required, and get an exact match to the HTC one - best part - it's free.

    Other best part - that works 100% with the ICS-required Nova launcher (root not required for that, either).

    I've switched to the Nova launcher on my LTEvo - my first time committing to non-Rosie (Sense) launcher for my daily driver in two years.

    Seriously, once you're down with ICS, just try Nova for a few days, check out all of the features - you may still like Sense, but with ICS, you just may not.

    Ok, many thanks for reading, I hope I've cleared some stuff up rather than made things worse. I'm subscribed to this thread and will pop back to answer questions.

    In any case, these are my opinions, your mileage may vary and there's not a thing wrong with that because Android is all about choice. ;) :)
     
    BlueBiker, rafier, Jazzy79 and 5 others like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...