1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Ring Volume Zero = System Volume Zero ???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by homemadehitshow, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. homemadehitshow

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    I'm not sure if this is app related or phone related.

    Using a selection of volume control apps (Volume Control for example) I have found that if I reduce the Ring volume to zero then the System (and hence Alarm) volume drops to zero also. This might explain some missed alarms I've been getting. As soon as the ring volume is greater than zero then the System volume returns to 100% and Alarm to it's previous setting.

    What's up with that ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. cavefishes

    cavefishes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    37
    22
    18
    When you set the ring volume to zero (by pressing down on the volume rocker past vibrate, the phone gets put in silent mode. Try going into Settings>Sound>Silent Mode and messing around with those settings. I'm not in an environment where I can do that right now, but you should be able to open up the Volumes menu and drag your "Ringtones and Notifications" volume down to zero without going into silent mode.
     
  3. homemadehitshow

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    Further testing seems to suggest that with the ringer turned off by the volume buttons that system volume is set to zero and the alarm does not sound.
     
  4. homemadehitshow

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    EDIT: Yes it goes into silent mode, but that makes no sense, because I turn my ringer off I don't want my alarm to be off ?
     
  5. homemadehitshow

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    Ahh, solved it.

    Firstly I use Gentle Alarm and there is no silent mode related setting there, but I found that inside the standard alarm settings is "Alarm In Silent Mode", this was unchecked. Now Gentle Alarm works find in silent mode. No idea what the default is for that field or when/if I unchecked it. Settings and Volume Control apps all work as expected now.

    Now I can just be frustrated about the Ring and Notification volumes being linked
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...