1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Ringer starts out really low

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jgunt, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. jgunt

    jgunt Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    RN
    Beckley,WV
    Okay, I'll admit I know absolutely nothing about this phone... I switched from an iPhone & love it so far but my only issue is when people call me my ringer is so low at the start then after about 5 seconds goes to the volume I have it set on... I looked all over the settings and theres nothing about ascending ringer checked or anything... this is just buggin' the heck out of me.. anyone had this issue or know how to make it stop? ;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Endoran

    Endoran Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    403
    24
    38
    SLC, Utah
    Happens to me too. I don't know if this is a bug or if that's how it's suppose to work. I kinda like personally!
     
  3. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    I believe the low first ring is universal and can't be modified. You can either consider it a "feature," allowing you to answer before disturbing those around you or...here's a practical solution to help offset the first low ring by extending the time your phone rings before rolling over into voicemail.

    1. On your phone, dial *#61# and click Send.
    2. Some information should be displayed: number that the calls are being forwarded to and the delay before the forwarding engages.
    3. Write down the number (including +1)
    4. Dial **61*+1xxxyyyzzzz*11*30# and hit Send. +1xxxyyyzzzz is the number you wrote down previously, 30 is the delay in seconds. The delay can be set in 5 second increments, 30 is maximum
    5. Dial *#61# to verify that the new settings are active.

    Dialing *#61# as instruction 5 suggests told me that my phone forwards to voicemail after 30 seconds.

    Hope this helps, and welcome jgunt!
     
  4. pac0naut

    pac0naut Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    103
    4
    56
    COO of a small family run company... I sell copier
    Phoenix, AZ
    I never noticed it until I did a custom ringtone...then I noticed it all the time. Not that it's a huge deal, but thanks for letting us know that it's the phone!
     
  5. chicknlil

    chicknlil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    601
    104
    93
    Female
    New England
    Yep, ascending ringtone is a Samsung thing, and best my googling has told me, can't be modified. This is my 3rd straight Samsung phone and they all did that. After awhile, you get used to it.
     
  6. Boldt

    Boldt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    186
    27
    43
    Central Florida
    I actually like it. My ringtone is loud as hell (need it that way) but when I am home and its on my dock the ascending first ring saves me from pissing down my leg when it goes off.

    Thanks for the tip, Jack.
     
  7. qwertyaas

    qwertyaas Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    373
    20
    38
    Yep, it's the way the ringtones work.

    Helps at work when I forget to put the phone on vibrate ;)
     
  8. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    I appreciate some people like it, I just wish Samsung wouldn't be so arrogant and assume everyone would want it, and instead just make it a fricken configurable option already. Other phones don't work that way... it's not really smart behavior to win customers by forcing them to do something in a way different than they're used to.
     
  9. Endoran

    Endoran Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    403
    24
    38
    SLC, Utah
    I agree. There can be a lot more customizability in android and Samsung. The small things like the ringtone ascension are unnecessary restrictions. However, if everything was customizable then the system itself would be more unstable unless extra programming effort was put forth. You could also argue that all the other phones are forcing their users to live without an ascending ringtone. I know Samsung is the *different* one, and should give you the option, but you see what I'm saying?
     
  10. incy1020

    incy1020 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    42
    4
    16
    Hi:
    What ringtone are you using? I've been looking around for a really loud one.
    Thanks!
     
  11. Joeydroid

    Joeydroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    152
    13
    38
    South Florida
    I edited my ringtone to add some silence to the beginning. Now when i get a call the ringtone starts in normal volume :D
     
  12. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    And one ring later...
     
  13. Joeydroid

    Joeydroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    152
    13
    38
    South Florida
    I added about 1 second of silence to the beginning. Not even close to one ring later... :rolleyes:
     
  14. mojocracker

    mojocracker Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Did you use ringdroid?
     
  15. Joeydroid

    Joeydroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    152
    13
    38
    South Florida
    I used Wavepad Sound Editor.
     
  16. sharkhark

    sharkhark Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    205
    13
    38
    Franchise Owner
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    tried this...it didnt work...it wouldnt change it...gave me some error msg ...double and triple checked and i am entering as listed above. the first part worked to get the phone number but the step four instructions did not work. kept resetting to 20 seconds, the default.:thinking:
     
  17. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    Here's Plan B:

    Call AT&T customer service. They'll gladly change it for you to 30 seconds since the "self help" didn't work out. :)
     
  18. sanko

    sanko Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    I am facing the same problem on my LG Optimus Net Dual P698.

    I could not understand your solution, weather it changes phone settings or settings with the operator?



     

Share This Page

Loading...