1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Ringtone defaults to silent

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ben Bertoline, Apr 4, 2018.

  1. Ben Bertoline

    Ben Bertoline Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018

    Apr 4, 2018
    1
    0
    15
    All of a sudden when I switch back and forth from silent mode to vibrate to sound, my ringtone switched itself back to "silent". The ringtone volume is all the way up, but I have to manually change the ringer to a time from silent.
    Anyone else experiencing this, or know a fix around this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    785
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    785
    216
    113
    Male
    Not much help but that doesn't happen on my s9+ ringer volume stays where it was set to when I change to vibrate/mute/back to sound on. Maybe another app is changing it? Or maybe the busy times options (if you are using it) is changing it.
     
    nongpamg likes this.
  3. Mark Bustamante

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018

    Apr 21, 2018
    3
    2
    16
    I am having the same problem ! I had it happened since I got my phone .
     
    nongpamg likes this.
  4. Mark Bustamante

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018

    Apr 21, 2018
    3
    2
    16
    I having the same problem since I got my phone !
     
    nongpamg likes this.
  5. Paul Mc

    Paul Mc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018

    Apr 25, 2018
    1
    1
    15
    same here. Switching to vibrate mode sets ringtone to silent. Switching back to sound mode leaves ringtone at silent. It should restore the ringtone for that mode. driving me crazy. no apps seem to actually fix it.
     
    nongpamg likes this.
  6. Mark Bustamante

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018

    Apr 21, 2018
    3
    2
    16
    Took phone back to sprint. They found out my SD card was not being detected. Put a new one in and now issue is fixed. My ringtone does not move back to silent.
    SD card was corrupt.
     
  7. nongpamg

    nongpamg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018

    Apr 27, 2018
    2
    0
    5
    Female
     
  8. Brian Mackadoo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2018

    May 15, 2018
    1
    0
    15
    My S9 seems to be worse than any ones. I can go to settings, sound, ringtone and pick a tone then go to home page then back to settings and already the riingtone has set itself back to silent. The riingtones in contacts work but the default ringtone instantly goes to silent everytime. I think this is a problem in the Samsung operating system. My wife got an S9 too at same time and it does not do it. I have put the 2 phones side by side and set them exactly the same...mine continues to do it and her's does not. Go figure. Thinking about going back to my S7. Set my phone to vibrate and ring and at least it vibrates when someone is calling, this is stupid!
     
  9. newteech

    newteech Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I am having the same problem.

    Are there any solutions to this yet??
     
  10. rixxy24

    rixxy24 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018

    Jul 11, 2018
    5
    0
    15
    Richervapours
    Uk
    My phone decides itself. I don't use any advanced (Palm cover to mute etc) extras, all volumes are set to full yet I still have the issue that my phone sometimes just does not ring and also I have the Samsung S3 phone which isn't giving notifications at the same time either it literally starts ringing after the caller has hung up. I don't know how to sort this and by the looks of it there doesn't seem to be much of an answer has anybody else had any luck as to why sometimes during the middle of the day phones just don't make a noise when people ring you Samsung S9 Plus using Oreo with the number 9 test thingumybob that's brand new in the last update
    Thanks Droids
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,748
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,748
    38,869
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    The delayed ring sounds like a carrier issue. Have you noticed if this happens with cell-to-cell calls, land line-to-cell or it doesn't matter? If you have a weak signal in your area or the carrier is an MVNO then the calls might not be routed immediately to your phone and you might see a delayed ring. But it should only be very infrequently.

    As to the volume setting itself to silent, try booting your phone into safe mode and try and see if it does it again. If not, then it's probably an app doing this.
     
    rixxy24 likes this.
  12. rixxy24

    rixxy24 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018

    Jul 11, 2018
    5
    0
    15
    Richervapours
    Uk
    Ok thanks.
     
  13. rixxy24

    rixxy24 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018

    Jul 11, 2018
    5
    0
    15
    Richervapours
    Uk

    Thanks I'll do this
     
  14. Contra1971

    Contra1971 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018

    Jun 23, 2018
    37
    23
    48
    Male
    Texas
    Anyone find the fix for this?
     
  15. rixxy24

    rixxy24 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018

    Jul 11, 2018
    5
    0
    15
    Richervapours
    Uk
    I rang Vodafone who said to go to store who'll give me a new sim. Mine keeps de registering on the network. New sim...... I'll keep informed here.
     
  16. rixxy24

    rixxy24 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018

    Jul 11, 2018
    5
    0
    15
    Richervapours
    Uk
    I sorted via a new sim. No issues as of yet. The sim kept unregistering and not re registering. Nobody but GOD knows why.
     
  17. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,448
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,448
    17,167
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    The SIM was faulty. It happens.
     
  18. Contra1971

    Contra1971 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018

    Jun 23, 2018
    37
    23
    48
    Male
    Texas
    umm so that is the problem?
     
  19. Contra1971

    Contra1971 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018

    Jun 23, 2018
    37
    23
    48
    Male
    Texas
    I am about fed up with it and ready to go back to iPhone
     
  20. Contra1971

    Contra1971 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018

    Jun 23, 2018
    37
    23
    48
    Male
    Texas
    well, I backed up my phone contacts, apps photos and everything else to factory default, and so far so good, it was defaulting to silent every hour or so and now it has been a couple and all is well
    I will repot back in a few hours

    Update: this seems to have fixed the problem
     
    #20 Contra1971, Jul 21, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2018
    Lisam2222 likes this.
  21. Contra1971

    Contra1971 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018

    Jun 23, 2018
    37
    23
    48
    Male
    Texas
    Yeah like I said here it is the next day and everything is fine
     
    Lisam2222 and lunatic59 like this.
  22. Lisam2222

    Lisam2222 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018

    Sep 22, 2018
    1
    0
    15
    Mine just started doing this after the last update and its driving me nuts. I called Verizon and they thought they could fix it but its still the same issue.
    Is it worth setting back to factory reset? Should I remove the SD card?
    I just need to get this fixed.
     
  23. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,748
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,748
    38,869
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I would consider a factory reset, but not until I was sure everything of importance was backed up OFF the phone. Photos, media, text and email messages and any account information that you'll need to log back in.

    And, before you reset, I'd highly recommend removing all accounts -- especially your Google account -- from the phone before the reset or you could have problems with FRP (factory reset protection).
     
  24. Contra1971

    Contra1971 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018

    Jun 23, 2018
    37
    23
    48
    Male
    Texas
    well back it all up, because like I said this worked for me even till this day
     
  25. James N

    James N Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018

    Sep 29, 2018
    1
    0
    15
    I have the same problem. After chosen a tone I clicked "add" but it kept going back to silent. I did it again but this time didn't click "add", just clicked on the arrow back and it worked. I say it's Samsung defective since that "add" button is not necessary.
     

Share This Page

Loading...