1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Ringtone Folder ???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DonB, Jun 26, 2010.

  1. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,347
    8,017
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Does anyone know where the ringtones are stored in the Hero, I checked with Astrofile, but do not see a ringtone folder, is that because it is in the internal memory only, and if that is the case how can I get an mp3 from my music to the ringtone selections, do I have to use the ringtone trimmer to do so, thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member
    128

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    under media>audio>ringtones. Or it might be media>ringtones.
     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,347
    8,017
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    That is my issue, when I go into Astrofile, I do not see any Media folder, I also did a search in Astrofile and no folder
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,347
    8,017
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Found it, I was on the home tab in Astrofile, that is why I could not see the folder had to go to folder Up, then system, then Media, then ringtones.
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,347
    8,017
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    OK maybe you know how to do this, from Astrofile, I want to move a file from my music folder to the media/notification folder, I have tried to move and also paste, but it does not work when I go to the notification folder options are not there anymore, I want to be able to do this with having to mount my phone to the PC, any suggestions
     
  6. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member
    128

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    not real sure how to move it if paste and move don't work, without hooking it up to the computer
     
  7. Honestly I would suggest mounting it to your PC to do something like this, Just because you don't want to do something on accident and have it mess up. Because if you make a mistake that you can't fix you'll end up having to use your PC to do it anyways.
     
    DonB likes this.
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,347
    8,017
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    The only issue is when I have it mounted, I am not able to get to the ringtone folder, system folder is not there either, so there has to be a way to move it or paste it there, I just mounted it and installed the mp3 in the ringtone trimmer folder to see if I can access it from there to see
     
  9. zx12richard

    zx12richard Well-Known Member
    38

    Jan 28, 2010
    318
    10
    38
    Easy. In astro select edit. Select move. Select the file you want to move. Go to location where you want it select paste. Or you can select multi file same way.
     
  10. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member
    128

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Yep, use Astro, I make folders and subfolders for stuff on my sd card all the time to keep it organized.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,347
    8,017
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Well I would like you to try what I am trying to do, go to your music folder, then copy or move an mp3, then go to your system folder/media/notification and try to paste in there, I have tried and it does not give the option to paste or move, it is greyed out
     
  12. zx12richard

    zx12richard Well-Known Member
    38

    Jan 28, 2010
    318
    10
    38
    I said it wrong long press on file to move edit and so on.
     
  13. zx12richard

    zx12richard Well-Known Member
    38

    Jan 28, 2010
    318
    10
    38
    Dude just done it. When you get to destination folder select edit then paste
     
  14. zx12richard

    zx12richard Well-Known Member
    38

    Jan 28, 2010
    318
    10
    38
  15. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,347
    8,017
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    I get it, but it still does not do it, here is what I am doing, I am running out for now, but will check back in, I go to my music folder, then I long press the song I want to Move, I get an edit option, then I hit edit, then I hit either move or copy, then once done I hit the up folder option until I get to where the system folder is, then I open the system folder, then open the media folder, then open the notification folder, then once open I hit the edit option on top of Astro, and I get no options, they are all there but greyed out. maybe I need a reboot, will do so when I get back later
     
  16. zx12richard

    zx12richard Well-Known Member
    38

    Jan 28, 2010
    318
    10
    38
    Sounds right
     
  17. Dr. Glockenspiel

    16

    May 8, 2010
    14
    3
    16
    You can't copy files to the system folder unless your phone is rooted. That folder is stored on the phone itself, not your sd card.

    If you don't have the "media" folder on your sd card, create it yourself. Create "audio" inside that. Then put three folders inside audio--alarms, ringtones, & notifications. Put your mp3 files in the corresponding folder, and they'll show up next time you go to make a selection.
     
    circus and DonB like this.
  18. zx12richard

    zx12richard Well-Known Member
    38

    Jan 28, 2010
    318
    10
    38
    Now that you mention it I did create those folders.
     
  19. ronbien

    ronbien Well-Known Member
    53

    Apr 23, 2010
    215
    47
    53
    Also they should all be lowercase. That is important.

    Good Luck!
     
  20. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,347
    8,017
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Thanks all, glad to know I was not loosing it, LOL, kind of figured that was the case, appreciate all the help, will create the folder as mentioned
     

  21. You have to create the directory yourself when you plug it into your computer. SD CARD: create media/audio/ringtones

    You can also create /audio/notifications and /alarms and be able to set custom sounds for each. Hope that helps
     
  22. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member
    68

    Dec 11, 2009
    646
    33
    68
    You can just upload the mp3 to myxer.com and it converts it to a ringtone. Then you download it and it automatically gets saved in the correct location on your phone.
     
  23. zx12richard

    zx12richard Well-Known Member
    38

    Jan 28, 2010
    318
    10
    38
    With a ringtone trimmer built right in the phone why bother with all that? Once you get it down in phone its easy
     
  24. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,347
    8,017
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    The issue is that I did not want it as a ringtone, I want it for a notification, for email, LOL, but all is good now
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...