1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Ringtone issue after Froyo update...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cogrady84, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. cogrady84

    cogrady84 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Hi guys, updated my HTC desire to Froyo 2.2.

    Now for some reason, when docked with my PC (in charge mode only), my ringtone doesnt sound if someone rings me. It vibrates if I set vibrate on, but it doesnt not ring, as soon as I undock it, it rings as normal...

    This never used to happen, I presume its related to Froyo?

    Any ideas? :( no notification of incoming calls whilst charging is a bit of a killer...
     

    Advertisement

  2. cogrady84

    cogrady84 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    bump?! nobody else have this prob?
     
  3. Rogue

    Rogue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    154
    10
    38
    Are you using a tone from an app or standard ringtone?
     
  4. StuartTheFish

    StuartTheFish Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    340
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    340
    10
    38
    Sounds like you're using an MP3 as a ringtone, and since it's on your SD card the phone can't access it while plugged into the PC.
     
  5. cogrady84

    cogrady84 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I'm using an MP3...

    So my phone will not ring while plugged into usb unless I choose one of the shitty default ringtones? ... :thinking:
     
  6. mikebell

    mikebell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    160
    25
    38
    Villa Straylight
    Are you absolutely sure that you don't inadvertently have the phone mounted as a disk drive when the USB cable is plugged in? Under those circumstances, Android is not able to access the card contents and would not be able to play an MP3 on the card.
     
  7. theretroandroid

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    India
    Ah! I had the same issue! And yes, i did mount it as a usb! *bangs his head on the keyboard*

    No wonder it wasnt able to play the mp3! :D
     
  8. cogrady84

    cogrady84 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I think when I installed iSyncr there was an option to automount as SD card... is there a way to reverse that setting?

    nevermind, sorted. thanks guys! :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...