1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Ripping dvds using handbrake 0.93

Discussion in 'Music & Media' started by MonmouthDroid, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    231
    6
    36
    Ok I am using handbrake to rip dvds to mp4 to put on my droid. I have it at 1500kbps 24fps video and AAC audio at 160kbps. I have the resolution set to 854x480. Ripping Iron Man is taking me like 3 or more hours to rip. I got it to rip in less time once and it was super pixilated and green and choppy. AM i doing something wrong or does ripping a movie take a long time to rip a movie at a viewable quality?
     

    Advertisement

  2. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    231
    6
    36
    Ok, the settings I just posted don't work at all. The picture is terrible, like you cant use it at all, the audio is also terrible. Anybody have any settings that work?
     
  3. thegreen

    thegreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    310
    49
    63
    PA
    There are a couple of threads discussing ongoing tests for this topic in the how-to/tips section of the Droid forum.
     
  4. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    231
    6
    36
    I read some of them. None seemed to address this question, so i started a new one. But i figured it out anyway.
     
  5. larryc23

    larryc23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    MonmouthDroid,

    Can you share how you fixed it?
     
  6. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    231
    6
    36
    In handbrake 0.93 they removed the decrypting abilities so you need to download a seperate encryption breaking software. I downloaded dvd43 I think it is called (I'll check when. I get home). It run in the background and automatically breaks the encryption on any DVD you put in, so there are no extra steps. Just download dvd43 and use handbrake as normal
     
  7. larryc23

    larryc23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks for the quick response. So, the settings you referenced earlier were usable?

    Ok I am using handbrake to rip dvds to mp4 to put on my droid. I have it at 1500kbps 24fps video and AAC audio at 160kbps. I have the resolution set to 854x480.

    Thanks, again.
     
  8. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    231
    6
    36
    Yes but change the 854 to 848. And don't use Motorola media sync, it downscales the quality. Just drag the file anywhere on your SD card (I use a folder I made called videos) and your gallery app will find the file
     

Share This Page

Loading...