1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Rise won't connect to wifi at work

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gogomouse1, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. gogomouse1

    gogomouse1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    120
    10
    58
    Male
    So I bought a Rise back in December. Not a bad phone for the price.
    But there is a huge problem- the phone can't/won't connect to the wifi at my work. It connects at home, and on public wifi with no problems. But at my work, it keeps going back and forth between "searching" and "connected" non-stop. I've asked my boss to reset the router- no luck. I did a factory reset to my phone- no luck. I called Virgin Mobile tech support- no luck. The woman actually said that my phone "isn't compatible" with my work's router (it's a Linksys model).

    So what now? Has anyone else encountered this problem? Should I send my phone back for a replacement? I can't ask my boss to do anything else with the router- my job doesn't really require using internet, and they tolerate us checking email, Facebook, etc. while at work, so I'm not going to make a big issue on their end. It's a publicwifi for our customers to use, and I've brought my daughter's phone with me one day, just to see if it connects, and it did, while my Rise wouldn't.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    I'd try to see if you couldn't get the phone replaced by the manufacturer. I've never seen this happen, and I've connected mine, when I had it, to my parent's Linksys while at their place.
     
  3. gogomouse1

    gogomouse1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    120
    10
    58
    Male
    The main reason I haven't sent it back already is the two or three weeks I'll have to use my old Samsung Intercept while at work.

    Ugh.
     
  4. mikeca

    mikeca Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #261
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    350
    34
    53
    I had a similar problem with using my rise as well, on a couple different public wifi's my Rise wouldn't connect for some reason and my wife's would connect almost immediately, there was nothing I could do to get it going. Only had this problem on unprotected public wifi's but it does work with most of those I tried. May be what Virgin said and it is just not compatible with some router's but I've never heard of that?
     
  5. gogomouse1

    gogomouse1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    120
    10
    58
    Male
    Sorry I haven't responded to this in a while.
    I work in a hotel, where dozens of guests every day use our wifi, and i seem to be the only person having an issue like this. How can a modern phone not be compatible with a modern router?
    Sorry, it's gotta be this phone. I've just been using it anyway for now. I'n probably going to switch to the Moto G on Boost soon.
     
  6. dibblebill

    dibblebill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    2,105
    360
    183
    Male
    Educator
    Raleigh, NC
    To be honest, probably the best idea
     
  7. divinebovine

    divinebovine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    991
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012

    Aug 30, 2012
    991
    273
    183
    Malfunction.
     
  8. gogomouse1

    gogomouse1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    120
    10
    58
    Male
    Yeah, I've pretty much given up on the wifi issue. My gf gave me her old iPhone 4 which I use to go online at work, and use my Rise for phone calls and what not.

    Not the best solution, but hey, I really don't want to buy a new phone- I just rooted my Rise, and it runs much better, so I'm gonna stick with it. Plus I don't feel like unrooting it just to send it back to VM.
     
  9. gogomouse1

    gogomouse1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    120
    10
    58
    Male
    An update- I've gotten a new co-worker in the last few weeks, and he has a Rise as well.... and his phone won't connect either. So at least I know it's not something wrong with my particular phone, the Kyocera Rise just isn't compatible with the Linksys router at my work.
     
  10. gogomouse1

    gogomouse1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    120
    10
    58
    Male
    UPDATE!

    So we had internet problems at work, there was an outage in the area or something. So one of the bosses tried to reset the router.... and BINGO!, my Rise now connects at work!
    So obviously, it was some setting on the router that was preventing me from connecting. The best part is I no longer have to carry that damn iPhone with me. YAY!
     
  11. mikeca

    mikeca Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #261
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    350
    34
    53
    our router at work (back when we had att would do that). It would sort of cascade where it would start dropping devices (some of which are iphones, and one at a time over a period of a day or so). Rebooting would work every time. We all share a wifi printer and that would usually be the first thing that would start it off.

    Glad you don't have to humiliate yourself with the iphone anymore! LOL!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...