1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Roaming Indicator Off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TJGoSurf, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. TJGoSurf

    TJGoSurf Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    1,419
    136
    143
    Male
    Oil Engineer stuff
    CO
    I just got my Commando today. And out of the box it says on the lock screen and the drop down menu. Roaming Indicator Off. Anyone know how to turn this off? I searched the settings menu and could find nothing.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BLACKTOOTHGRIN

    BLACKTOOTHGRIN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    297
    22
    38
    Professional Pain In The A$$
    South of Heavan
    Mine did that before I activated it.
    Once it was activated, the icon went away.
    You might also want to check your settings.
     
  3. TJGoSurf

    TJGoSurf Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    1,419
    136
    143
    Male
    Oil Engineer stuff
    CO

    We had trouble activating it. But its activated. And there is no setting for it.
     
  4. BLACKTOOTHGRIN

    BLACKTOOTHGRIN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    297
    22
    38
    Professional Pain In The A$$
    South of Heavan
    So is the icon gone now that it's activated?

    ...and yes there are settings for roaming.
    If I had my phone on me right now,
    I'd tell you exactly where.
    Take a look in the settings though, they're in there.;)
     
  5. BLACKTOOTHGRIN

    BLACKTOOTHGRIN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    297
    22
    38
    Professional Pain In The A$$
    South of Heavan
  6. TJGoSurf

    TJGoSurf Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    1,419
    136
    143
    Male
    Oil Engineer stuff
    CO
    I've flipped thru everything. It came with Gingerbread, out of the box. It was shipped to the Verizon store, and I opened the package.
     
  7. BLACKTOOTHGRIN

    BLACKTOOTHGRIN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    297
    22
    38
    Professional Pain In The A$$
    South of Heavan
  8. TJGoSurf

    TJGoSurf Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    1,419
    136
    143
    Male
    Oil Engineer stuff
    CO
    That didn't work. I had to do a factory reset and when I did I had to run thru activation again.

    But it's gone now.
     
  9. BLACKTOOTHGRIN

    BLACKTOOTHGRIN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    297
    22
    38
    Professional Pain In The A$$
    South of Heavan
    Glad you got it worked out.
     
  10. kb0nly

    kb0nly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Mine did that to...

    Was due to being on an old grandfathered Alltel plan. Once i changed to a new Verizon plan and added the data, didn't have a smartphone before this, it was right after the website showed my new plan took over that the phone then showed Verizon Wireless instead of that Roaming Indicator Off.
     
  11. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    Hey, a fellow batlabber...

    It has to do with what PRL is programmed into the phone. When it comes from the factory the PRL that is in it may or may not have the NID & SID for where you are. Once you dial *228 and program the phone it will be programmed with the current PRL for where you are. If you ever go somewhere out of your home market and your phone acts weird one of the first things you will want to do is dial *228, option 2. This won't work if you are actually roaming though.
     
  12. kb0nly

    kb0nly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Indeed... Don't get on there very often though!

    Just got a new phone, finally got 3g in our area and its reliable enough to actually have a smartphone now!
     
  13. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    It's a nice phone, durable too, for the most part. Stock it performs well, rooted, trimmed down and cleaned up it's much better.
     
  14. kb0nly

    kb0nly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    That rooting stuff still scares me... Doubt i will do it.

    About the only reason i could see to root is is remove that darn NFL and Books crap on there. But there isn't too many stock apps on it that i am worried about, just those two because they constantly ask to update.
     
  15. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    There are some apps that needlessly run in the background (using data and battery) that are perfect for killing off with a rooted device The ZergRush method is safe, as safe as hacking on your phone can be. What it unsafe about rooting is what you are then able to do to your phone. There are some systems files that are perfectly safe to mess with, and then some that will put your phone into a continuous boot loop. I overwrote a file called libaudioflinger.so and ended up having to get a new phone.

    Root your phone, read the list of apps safe to remove and go with it. The list is quite comprehensive and I wouldn't go deleting anything else that's not on that list. Rafael deleted some type of settings file and he had to get his phone replaced.
     
  16. jtexfisher

    jtexfisher Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    So it seems that if the phone is on an old Alltel plan + Data this is normal?
     
  17. kb0nly

    kb0nly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Yes... Everyone around here that owns one sees that. I moved to a Verizon plan and it changed to Verizon Wireless right after i made the change online, so definitely due to the old Alltel plan.
     

Share This Page

Loading...