1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Roaming

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by leothelion, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. leothelion

    leothelion Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Has anyone used the Galaxy Spica while roaming ?

    I am traveling to Spain next month and thinking of using an old phone for the 2 weeks as afraid of finding a huge bill when I get back ,won't be making any calls but weary of being charged for data use or can this be turned off as I wont need it .Will only be using sms to stay in touch .
     

    Advertisement

  2. madhatter76

    madhatter76 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    I've used the Spica recently in spain ...
    following hints ..

    install the "quick settings" app where you can turn off the apn. Also tick in settings - wireless - mobile networks the data roaming off.

    This will disable all data communication and avoid any surprises.
    Phone and sms will operate normal.
    Hint for battery performance:
    disable the 2g as well to save battery.
     
    leothelion likes this.
  3. leothelion

    leothelion Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks for that mate only have the phone a week so still playing around but glad I will b able to take it on hols with me .
     
  4. gontofe

    gontofe Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    I think this is the same as with other phones, but if you have auto time and date update enabled, it will change the time of any existing appointments, so watch out if you put in your flight times etc (I speak from personal experience!)...
     
  5. banna

    banna Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    I was struggling with limiting my unintentional data usage (which btw keeps on doing during AutoSync and background data interactions). I just removed my APN and it did the trick to block data usage.
     

Share This Page

Loading...