1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Roger's 911 bug - Does it apply to rooted phones too?

Discussion in 'Rogers' started by nicracine, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Flashrec won't run on the update. If you have root you will want to wait until the folks at XDA get their hands on this update.
     

    Advertisement

  2. hardlynoticable

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have a Rogers HTC Dream with Cyanogen's Mod and now Rogers has shut off my data. Should I wait for someone to figure out how to get around Rogers?
     
  3. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Wait for Rogers to reinstate the Dream / Magic upgrade and get yourself a Magic free of cost. You just have to restart your 3 year contract again from the order date.

    When you get the magic which will probably have the update, pop your sim card into it and when your data reconnects you should be able to then put your sim card back into your dream and have data working on it.

    I did the update on my Magic on Friday and never lost my data, I've checked with my sim card in the dream that my magic replaced several times since and the data is still working on it. The Dream is running Cyanogen 4.2.13.

    gbd
     
  4. EvilGuyWhoEatsBrains

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Some people have been calling or using live support with Rogers and asking for a "network refresh" which is working for now...
     
  5. nicracine

    nicracine Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    201
    7
    36
    The tech guy I spoke to this morning specifically told me that they were not allowed to do refresh anymore. They have to open a ticket, so they will check your device before doing the refresh. Maybe I was lied to, but If Rogers want to lockdown on the Cooked ROMS, that is exactly what they must do. Since we already know that they read the forums, it's not hard to imagine that they did order such a measure.

    Nicolas Racine
     
  6. 4r4nd0mninj4

    4r4nd0mninj4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I found a ROM called CursorSense32A. I installed it, along with a few other things, and I now have my 3G back! I posted a bit about the progress on my site here and will update it if I run into any issues. In anyone finds a way get around this Rogers crap with CyanogenMOD on a Magic32a, feel free to give me a shout.
     
  7. vikingisson

    vikingisson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    We knew that the simple refresh request wouldn't last but helped many of us to get back online. So what happens if you put your SIM in another phone say for example an unlocked phone? If the ROM check comes back with something that is obviously not a Magic/Dream then would it just ignore it and not cut your data? They can't block you from using another phone but it gets dicey what happens with the ROM check. They do have an obligation to get all the contract phones up to date. They've done their due diligence so they need to forget about the rooters that aren't a problem and focus on bugs and the next update.
    (FYI, I SIM'd an unlocked non android phone and everything worked fine and continued to work after going back to the android)
     

Share This Page

Loading...