1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Rogers and Mobilicity

Discussion in 'Rogers' started by tigrr07, May 28, 2011.

  1. tigrr07

    tigrr07 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    130
    7
    36
    Does anyone know if the Nexus S phone from Mobilicity will work on the Rogers network? I currently have an N1 and was thinking of signing up my son on Mobilicity and giving him my N1 to use on it and taking the NS for myself to use on Rogers.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dfube

    Dfube Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    2
    2
    6
    Look for the frequencies that the moblicity version uses. If it matches with Rogers frequencies then it will work great.

    From Moblicitys website:
    Frequencies: GSM Quad band (850/900/1800/1900) HSDPA Tri Band (AWS)

    From Rogers wiki:
    GSM/GPRS/EDGE on the 850 and 1900 MHz bands (Also known as 2G GSM, or 2.5G in the case of EDGE)
    UMTS/HSPA on the 850 and 1900 MHz bands (Also known as 3G GSM)

    Dont quote me, but I'm going to assume it will work on Rogers.
     
    tigrr07 likes this.
  3. Superbrowndude

    Superbrowndude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    173
    11
    58
    Brampton,On
    I would imagine it would seeing hows the Nexus line of phones were not locked to any certain carrier. I know Koodoo and fido also offer the Nexus S
     
  4. thedosbox

    thedosbox Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    As Mobilicity uses different 3G frequencies from Rogers, this scheme will not work.
     
    tigrr07 likes this.
  5. BingoRingo

    BingoRingo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    399
    54
    53
    Aylmer, Quebec
    It won't work. Well, not entirely true, it won't work with 3G speeds. Mobility uses AWS and Rogers doesn't use that. The phone will work with GSM, but it's an old technology and it's not fast.
     
    tigrr07 likes this.
  6. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    You can use a Rogers phone with any carrier in Canada EXCEPT Mobilicity and Wind if you want 3G.
     

Share This Page

Loading...