1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Rogers Update: 911 Fix for Rogers HTC Dream and Magic is Ready

Discussion in 'Rogers' started by RogersMary, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. cmetaphor

    cmetaphor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    Little update from me:

    Last night I received an automated message from Rogers about the mandatory update. Sufficed to say that the message was the exact same as the text messages, save one detail "Rogers cares about it's customers safety above all else." Apparently theyre still trying to play a game with me, and I am not amused.

    I have not done this update. Why? "Mandatory" for one - nothing is mandatory when I've paid a great deal of money to own this phone. Disabled my 3G? I dont think so. Im keeping track of how many days go by until the idiots at Rogers finds a better way to fix this (I only have a Windows 7 PC, and their phone help is pathetic to try and get the update to work on it).

    Tick tock Rogers. Lawsuit. Tick tock.
     

    Advertisement

  2. puleen

    puleen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    215
    7
    36
    Toronto, Canada
    @RogersMary - What's the holdup with providing the list of features (new and removed) in the new update? Surely it can't take this long to get an update. I thought Rogers had customer safety in mind. Shouldn't you already know what is in this update to make sure that customers are receiving a safe update? Then why such a long delay in providing this list?

    Is the delay because Rogers now needs to put together a list? Does that mean you don't know what is in the software which is released to your customers? Surely, this indicates that contrary to Rogers' statements, customer safety takes a back seat! Selfishness and Greed take the front seat. It's pretty black and white with no grey area.

    So I ask again, where is the list? It's been four days now and I don't see the list. I should see the list, but I don't. So where is it?
     
  3. sconnelly

    sconnelly Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009

    Sep 25, 2009
    136
    2
    36
    It's mandatory because Rogers cannot provide cell phone service without a 911 service. This is a strict CRTC rule 9-1-1 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Yes, Rogers did very much break this rule (intentionally or not??) and I suspect they were completely open to a lawsuit for many months (while this was a known issue).

    Like I stated before, Rogers had no choice but to force this update on all affected Android owners.

    Are you telling me that you have no access to any other Windows platform? Or are you just making excuses b/c you want a fight with Rogers? :rolleyes:

    What about right-clicking on the update and selecting Windows XP compatibility mode? I really don't know what the problem is with Win7; I experienced no issues.
     
  4. puleen

    puleen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    215
    7
    36
    Toronto, Canada
    If Rogers had understood Android, the issue of Win 7 / XP / Linux would not be there. IF updates were provided OTA as the Android platform is designed to be able to do, all this talk about Win 7, Win XP Compatibility, SD Card with updates being mailed out would all be a MOOT point!

    The fact remains, Rogers does not understand Android and has no appetite to digest Android!
     
  5. sconnelly

    sconnelly Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009

    Sep 25, 2009
    136
    2
    36
    "Rogers cares about their customers safety"? In reality it is actually "Rogers cares about what the CRTC forces them to do" and because the bluetooth issue is not a mandatory safety requirement, do not expect to see this fixed. Keep in mind that this is a core problem with the Android SDK, the Android team have known about it since 2008 and still have not done anything to fix this.

    Please STAR these issues (not that I have any confidence that it matters):
    Issue 4848 - android - Have voice dial work through bluetooth - very important driving safety isse! - Project Hosting on Google Code
    Issue 1181 - android - [VoiceDial] Voice confirmation for Voice Dialer - Project Hosting on Google Code
    Issue 1413 - android - Voice Dialer missing verbal prompts - Project Hosting on Google Code
     
  6. sconnelly

    sconnelly Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009

    Sep 25, 2009
    136
    2
    36
    What issue are you talking about?

    I had no difficulties to the update in Windows XP compatibility mode on Windows 7. I also know for fact, that there are no known issues with a pure Windows XP OS.

    If there are issues with some customers (funky computers), I think it would be smart to allow Rogers dealers to do the update for you.
     
  7. sconnelly

    sconnelly Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009

    Sep 25, 2009
    136
    2
    36
    You misunderstood my sarcasm. I had wrote "discounted" (in quotes), meaning discounted as in the typical subsidized rate on a new three year plan. :rolleyes:

    What points?? I have been a Rogers customer for over ten years now. I have never seen anything about points building up over the past ten years. Please explain. Am I missing out on something?

    As I previously mentioned, my sister received a FREE 16gb iPhone because of her ten year relationship with Fido! Where is my reward?? :)
     
  8. dotster

    dotster Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    I don't know the exact details but there's certain "brackets" or "tiers" that customers reach after having an account with Rogers for a year or two. The more money you spend with them each month, the higher the bracket you can reach in order to get a discounted upgrade phone.

    e.g. You've been a customer for 2 years and you've only spent $30 each month on voice only but want to upgrade to a smartphone. The smartphone will probably still cost you $150 - $200, depending on promotions.

    e.g. You've been a customer for 2 years and you spend $100 on voice, data, etc. You've probalby already reached the tier 2 discount level and may get that same phone for $50 or less.

    However, Rogers recently updated their policy so it may or may not affect you. But as far as I know, you still have to wait TWO YEARS to get a subsidized smartphone, if you already have one.

    EDIT: When you upgrade and use your "points", they re-lock you into 3 year contract again.
     
  9. athco

    athco Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    ... and let's not forget that Rogers will be "compensating" EVERY Dream owner (Magic too, I'm assuming) by covering one month's data usage... that can't be good for their bottom line either.

    I still can't believe they chose this approach to get these phones updated. Someone at Rogers needs to go back to school, or at least take a math class... cuz after all this, they should have A LOT of extra time anyway. :)
     
  10. opus904

    opus904 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    21
    0
    35
    Electrical Technologist
    Saint John, NB
    May have missed this one in the threads but, i want to know when and if Rogers is going to sell the Magic again? I was all set to upgrade the other night but the clerk informed me that she couldn't sell it to me because she had to send all of them back.
     
  11. vikingisson

    vikingisson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    I'm sure that some of you are getting daily texts and robot phone calls about the update. What if you have your data back but still get the notices? I can ignore them but apparently they don't think I'm updated and I don't feel like waiting in a phone queue to tell them I'm ok..
     
  12. gnugu

    gnugu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    I'm getting them too. Although I got my data back through "network reset".

    I would like to know if someone who actually DID the "update" is still getting them.
     
  13. sakian

    sakian Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    It's been nearly 48hours since updating and still no data for me.
     
  14. athco

    athco Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Have you rebooted your phone recently?
     
  15. sakian

    sakian Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    sweet, that worked! thanks!
     
  16. jeff000

    jeff000 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009

    Jun 10, 2009
    70
    0
    15
    If you really want to get pissed off go and look at the plan rates for phones in the US. We pay double, sometimes more for the same, or less, features.
    There are a few US plans where its ALMOST cheaper for me to have a US phone here in Canada then it is to have my Rogers phone..... thats SAD!
    The US hasn't had "long distance" when calling inside the states for a long time. Yet I had to fight to keep my 100 free long distance minutes a month from some special they had 4 or 5 years ago.

    You will waste a lot of money trying to sue over this. A LOT.
    As others have said and I have said but will say again, this update makes the phone that much better, I am VERY happy with the new snappiness and feel/look/features.

    I got my Magic 6 days before it was released and for free.... At that time it was probably 150+ bucks.
    I've been with rogers for 10.5 years. When I renew normally I don't want a phone so I get a better rate on my plans.
    I have a killer plan, and it comes to 73.xx a month. Still more then it should be, but better then the 115ish it "should" be.


    Fido seems to be more expensive then Rogers.... But I guess it depneds on what actual plan you make. The one I have (or close) is 135 at Fido, 115 at rogers. 20 bucks a month for 10 years... I hope she got more then just an iPhone.

    You're right its not good for their bottom line. But the number of actual users they are giving this discount to is minimal. And I would bet that even without data on the bill the rest of the bill will more then cover what their actual cost is.

    If you call and complain enough I bet you could probably get a second months data free out of it.
     
  17. masalicio

    masalicio Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Edmonton Alberta
    I would really like to see the changelog for this rogers forced update as well. Ever since the update my phone keeps taking 2-3 some times up to 5 retrys to place a call. You type in or select whomever you want to call, it says its dialing ect. Then just hangs up putting you back to the previous menu. I have of course tried resetting it several times to see if it was just something I did. Even backed up my apps and uninstalled them all, put phone settings back to factory ect. Tried with bluetooth, without bluetooh, speakerphone ect. Still acts up. Considering it has never done this before UNTILL i put on rogers damned update.... HMMMMMM gets you thinking what other bugs I may find in this "fixed" rom.

    Does anyone elses phone do this since the update? Its a real piss off.

    So Rogers might have added the 911 fix to the code so we can dial 911 now, it just takes up to 5 attempts to connect with 911 :p

    Jesus.... my phone was so great on Cyanogen 1.6. Not a damned complaint. Now I am forced into and old rom with SMS hack vulerabilities, buggy bluetooth, *no 1.6 apps*.... but atleast I can call 911!..... sometimes.
     
  18. cmetaphor

    cmetaphor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    36
    0
    15

    Again, fancy updates are for Magic only. Dream users get nothing at all. Nothing.
     
  19. TechOttawa

    TechOttawa Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    My update -

    Day 6 since flashing new ROM into a Rogers Magic on Fido network. Still no 3G. Phone roaming. But says it's on Fido.

    Ticket open at Rogers. and Fido since start of the week. RogersMary is on the case. They have my build number, kernel version, IMEI. We've done network refreshes. Restarts with batteries out etc. etc. Tried Rogers internet APN. Anyone have any other suggestion?

    Still no 3G.

    Aprox. 40 other folks seem to have same prob according to CSR.

    I shouldn't have flashed the ROM. Egad.
     
  20. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    157
    15
    38
    Student
    Calgary
    Just curious, have you tried booting up the phone without a SIM card in it? Doesn't make much sense, but worth a shot!
     
  21. jeff000

    jeff000 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009

    Jun 10, 2009
    70
    0
    15
    Dream's get the option of a free Magic.... seems like something to me?
     
  22. cmetaphor

    cmetaphor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    Which has been suspended...
     
  23. chrisyak

    chrisyak Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    68
    15
    18
    please keep us up to date on your issue as other Fido customers using Magics am sure would find it helpful.thnx.
     
  24. nicracine

    nicracine Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    201
    7
    36
    Need I remind you that this update is "fancy" only to those who were running Roger's stock ROM. Don't get me wrong. I am glad someone at least got something positive out of this.

    However, for those of us who were tricked unto giving up our rooted phone, this is a downgrade. a major one. Nothing fancy here, except maybe how they went out of their way to get us back into the ranks.

    Nicolas Racine
     
  25. ChileanWineGuy

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Don't know about the Magic as I have the Dream working on Fido. After the Fix I went 4 days without data. Talked to numerous Fido support people every day to no avail. All of them said to use the wap.fido.ca APN with username "fido" and password "fido". I finally asked one techy what the internet.fido.ca was for. He said that was only for smartphones like the iPhone. DF. Tried that one with no username and no password and it worked right away. I still have some problems as service seems to be a bit erratic but at least I can get my emails when I'm on the road. See if that works on Magic
     

Share This Page

Loading...